Core Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
- America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window Covers history after 1450, excluding U.S. and Canada; lists articles, books, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
- Philosopher's Index [EBSCO] 1940+ (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Indexes books and journals on ethics, aesthetics, social & political philosophy, epistemology, & metaphysic logic and the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, & language.
- ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text scholarly journals providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines.
- Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science] 1898+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.
Additional Databases
- Bibliography of Asian Studies: Politics and Government Indexes western-language books, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia. Browse for articles by country, then select topic.
- Academic OneFile [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with New York Times full text, 1985+.
- Africa Bibliography [Cambridge] 1984+ This link opens in a new window Lists books & articles on Africa, in the social & environmental sciences, development studies, humanities and arts. Some items from the medical, biological & natural sciences are included government publications and literary works are not.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) [EBSCO] 1989+ (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Indexes North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union in articles, books, book reviews, dissertations, and more.
- Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
- Index Islamicus [EBSCO] 1906+ This link opens in a new window Lists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslims worldwide. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) [ProQuest] 1951+ This link opens in a new window Indexes 2,600+ international journals in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. From the British Library of Political & Economic Science.
- PAIS International [ProQuest] 1915+ This link opens in a new window Covers current affairs, social and public policy issues in articles, books, hearings, reports, government publications, Internet resources, and more from 120 countries.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
Get help with articles
- Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
Try BrowZine for eJournals
Connect to: BrowZine (web version)
The Libraries subscribe to a “browsable newsstand” of academic eJournals. BrowZine allows you to access and customize your journal bookshelf from a computer, tablet or smartphone.
BrowZine makes most online journals offered by the Smith College Libraries - plus any open access journals you follow - instantly available on one common newsstand.
- Browse new journal issues in ONE app or interface
- Read new articles online on your tablet, smartphone or the web
- Email, download and save for offline reading
- Send articles to Refworks or Zotero
- Share citations and your comments on Twitter or Facebook
The Libraries guide to BrowZine helps you download apps.