News & Law
- Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
- AllAfrica 1996+ This link opens in a new window More than one million news articles about all countries on the African continent. Approx. 75% English; 25% French.
- America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.
- Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new window Full text of all staff-written news stories, features, columns, and editorials with images.
- CountryWatch 1993+ This link opens in a new window Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including politics, economics, business, news and data.
- The Economist Full-text access from the current issue back to 1997.
- New York Times, 1851+ This link opens in a new window Full text access to current issues and a complete archive (does not include the Crossword). The first time you use this link, you will be prompted to create your own New York Times account, using your Smith email address. After that you can go directly to nytimes.com or use the NYTimes app from anywhere, on any device and gain full access with the login you've created. Spanish and Chinese language editions are also available. Faculty and staff need to refresh their account annually.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window Access the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window Full-text access to current issues, with digitized access to historic archives. When on the campus IP range, there is no need to sign in. For off-campus access and for added functionality, you can create your own account, but you will need to use a desktop computer to do so before using the mobile app. On the Washington Post website, select Sign In, then click on Need an account? Sign up at the bottom of the page. From there, create a login with your Smith email or click Continue with Google. You will be sent a verification email—open this and click the Verify Email button to finish your account setup. To access digitized archives, click on Print Archives (Subscribers Only) at the bottom of the Washington Post homepage when logged in.
- Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
- Westlaw Campus Research (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Federal and state legal materials, American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports (ALR), and 900+ law journals and U.S./international news sources full text.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Full text access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels. Also includes 300+ years of information on political development and history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
- Alternative News Sources World-Newspapers.com list of links to sites for alternative news
- TV News Archive [Internet Archive] Streaming video of all US broadcast TV news from 2009-present.
New! Access to Le Monde
- Le Monde This link opens in a new windowDaily French-language coverage of European and global news. Access includes the digital newspaper for the past 30 days, and web content for the past year.