Databases by Title

Includes collections and finding tools for articles, books, background sources, streaming videos, primary sources, and more!

Loading...

Subject Research Guides

Get Help

Smith Libraries Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians
Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 
Libraries Service Desk

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Full text archive, 1925-2011.
Trial
Lists articles, essays & books on French and Francophone literature. Trial ends 11/24/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Online version of Bloomsbury’s Cultural Histories series, offering surveys of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each topic is examined over these time periods: Antiquity, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire & the Modern Age. Trial ends 2/6/18. Send feedback.
Trial
Encyclopedias & other reference works, plus eBooks, images, etc., in the field design & craft studies. Also includes 100+ designer pages, an interactive timeline & other tools. Trial ends 11/5/17. Send feedback.
Trial
Critical biographies on individuals who have contributed to the history of thought & philosophy. Currently covers North America, Britain, Ireland & the Middle East; entries for figures from Europe, Asia, Latin American & Africa are forthcoming. Trial ends 2/8/18.
Trial
Scholarly works covering popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to present. Includes Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World, all titles in the 33 1/3 book series, and titles from the Bloomsbury’s Popular Music Studies list. Trial ends 12/28/17. Send feedback.
New
Consists of five databases:ABI/INFORM; Entrepreneurship Database; Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection; Asian & European Business Collection; and Business Market Research Collection.
New
A collection of digital graded readers for Chinese language learners. Books are available in both simplified and traditional Chinese character versions, accompanied by English and pinyin. There is a built-in dictionary function, listing of competency levels for Chinese characters, and audio tracks.
New
Growing collection of in-depth analyses of key engineering failures; includes documentaries on major failures, books, simulations, news segments, audio footage & transcripts, images, testimony from participants & witnesses, etc.
New
Historic audio recordings with supporting field materials, 1960's through the 1980's.
New
Digital magazines newsstand, for use on computers, tablets & phones. Includes Bon Appetit, Consumer Reports, Discover, Ebony, Mother Jones, New Yorker, Rolling Stone, etc. Current issues with growing backfile. Mobile access is available through the download of a free mobile application.
New
Offers almost 100 years of US data, plus a decade of global tracking data. US coverage Includes new data & historical trends at the country, state & city levels, all searchable & exportable. View data by demographic categories and compare results across geographies to develop & report findings.
New
Important films produced from the early 20th century to today, from Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films & Oscilloscope.
New
Full-text collection of local, regional & national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920's; also includes several anti-Klan newspapers.
New
Primary source collection on social, political, health & legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities internationally: covers the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, etc.
New
Collection of eBooks related to museum and gallery studies.
New
Full-text periodicals depicting American musical life 1838 - early 1900's, through local & international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music & ads.
Trial
Scholarly, continuously-updated encyclopedias, designed to provide contextual guidance at the start of research projects on unfamiliar topics. Trial includes four subjects: American history; Latin American history; Politics; Religion; with some free content in all the other subjects. Trial ends 2/1/2018. Send feedback.
New
Online learning tool for 30 languages, from basic to advanced; self-paced tutorials for reading, writing, listening & speaking. You must first create a username/password before using Rosetta Stone.
New
600+ handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the social sciences and humanities. Chapters can be searched, viewed & downloaded.
New
Online tool for helping teachers & vocalists refine pronunciation and enhance comprehension of musical texts in a number of languages.
New
The 1,000 most popular films on the Swank streaming platform; includes both feature & documentary films, from major Hollywood studios, plus independent, foreign and art producers.
New
Contains records of the Women’s Bureau (U.S. Department of Labor) and correspondence of the Director of the Women’s Army Corps. Documents women’s work in war industries, equal pay, childcare & race, and service in the Women’s Army Corps.
New
Covers voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
Trial
International newsreels from the early 20th century; key collections include Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Trial ends 1/30/18.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...