Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.
- Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.
Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.
A-Z Database List
Full list of Databases the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
Search Beyond the Mainstream
Alternative Press Index and Archive [EBSCO] 1969+
Indexes hundreds of alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
Alt-PressWatch [ProQuest] 1995+
Full text database for 130+ newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+
Full text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO]
Core journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, work, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
Scholarly Articles: Top 5 Databases
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]
Use Limit your results for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals Full text for 4,500+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Back issues, except the most recent 2-5 years. Complete full text backfiles for over 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Project Muse (Current issues)
Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Web of Science 1898+
Formerly Web of Knowledge. Includes Social Science Citation Index. Indexes and abstracts science & technical journals (1900 to present) and social science journals (2003 to present) published around the world with cited reference searching.
More Scholarly Article Databases
Choose a subject (top left) or use one of the following to search across disciplines.
Academic OneFile [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new window
From results display select the Academic Journals tab at the top to limit to scholarly articles. Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with New York Times full text, 1995+.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index [Web of Science] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Extensive Index to 1,300 journals in all arts and humanities disciplines.
General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window  Abstracts of articles from 160+ U.S. and British journals and magazines on anthropology, astronomy, pollution, biology, computers, earth sciences, medicine, health, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window  Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject.
Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window  Abstracts of articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, television, and radio from 465+ sources.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window  Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Articles from both scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, plus biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window  Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
Social Sciences Abstracts [EBSCO] 1983+ This link opens in a new window  Abstracts and some full text of articles from 550+ sources in anthropology, political science, economics, psychology, geography, and sociology; with interviews, obituaries, and book reviews.
Popular Articles: Current Coverage
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
From results display use Narrow Results on the left, choose Magazines to limit to popular articles. Full text for 4,500+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Digital magazines newsstand, for use on computers, tablets & phones. Includes Bon Appetit, Consumer Reports, Discover, Ebony, Mother Jones, New Yorker, Rolling Stone, etc. Current issues with growing backfile. Mobile access is available through the download of a free mobile application.
General OneFile [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new window
From results display select the Magazines tab at the top to limit to popular articles. Peer-reviewed, full text articles, with extensive coverage of the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with New York Times full text, 1995+.
Smith links to news sites & databases
Popular Articles: Historical Coverage