Digital Newspapers
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowFull text compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the US during the 19th & 20th centuries; includes many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish & English.
- Atlanta Constitution [Proquest], 1868-1985 This link opens in a new windowCovers the political, economic, cultural & social life of the southeastern US from Reconstruction through the late 20th century.
- Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new windowFull text of all staff-written news stories, features, columns, and editorials with images.
- Chicago Defender Historical [ProQuest] 1905-1975 This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of articles, editorial cartoons, photographs, advertisements, etc. from this important African-American newspaper.
- Chicago Tribune Historical [ProQuest] 1849+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new windowFull text newspaper, with images.
- Los Angeles Times Historical [ProQuest] 1881+ (subscription ends 08/01/2024) This link opens in a new windowFull text, including images of the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1986).
- New York Amsterdam News Historical [Proquest] 1922-1993 This link opens in a new windowA leading African American newspaper of the 20th century. Full page and article images with searchable full text from the New York Amsterdam news (1922-1938), New York Amsterdam news (1938-1941 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1943-1961 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1962-1993), New York Amsterdam star-news (1941-1943), and the New York star & Amsterdam news (1941-1941). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
- New York Herald Tribune [ProQuest] 1841-1962 This link opens in a new windowFull text, including images, of this influential paper founded by Horace Greeley. Important for 19th century US social history and 20th century literature & arts coverage.
- New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new windowFull text, including images, of the New York Times, excluding the most recent 4 years.
- Washington Post Historical [ProQuest] 1877+ (subscription ends 07/01/2024) This link opens in a new windowNOTE: For access to the Washington Post archives, please click "Print Archives" on the Washington Post site. Must be on campus or logged into your Washington Post account for access.
Alternative/Ethnic/Gender Press
- Alternative Press Index and Archive [EBSCO] 1969+ (subscription ends 07/01/2024) This link opens in a new windowIndexes hundreds of alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- Alt-PressWatch [ProQuest] 1995+ (subscription ends 08/01/2024) This link opens in a new windowFull text database for 130+ newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new windowFull text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Manuscripts and Books
Sophia Smith Collection (SSC) - The SSC website includes collection lists and descriptions; online guides for the SSC - as well as for other primary source repositories in the Five Colleges - are available in Five College Archives & Manuscripts Collections database, Asteria.
Five College Library Catalog - Remember to search people (e.g. Margaret Sanger) and organizations (e.g. National Congress of Neighborhood Women) as both author and subject. Searching by author will retrieve additional primary source material; searching by subject will retrieve both secondary literature and possibly additional primary sources.
More Primary Source Collections
- Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new windowCensus, vital, church, court & immigration records for the US & UK, plus material on other areas. Major components: US federal census 1790-1940 (incl. manuscript returns); historical maps; Social Security Death Index; etc.
- Gerritsen Collection 1543 -1945 This link opens in a new windowAn international collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals on feminism & the women's rights movement worldwide.
- Archives Unbound [Gale] This link opens in a new windowDigital primary source collections on a wide variety of topics, countries, and time periods, from women's history and feminism, to civil rights, foreign policy, missionary societies, the Federal Writers' Project, etc.
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S.,Scholar's Edition [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews & teaching tools relating to US history, as seen through women's eyes.
- Women and Social Movements International [Alexander Street] 1840+ This link opens in a new windowDigital primary sources, including conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications & web pages of women's organizations, plus letters, diaries & memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-19th century.
Ask Us / Meet with Us
Related Guides
- Find Images GuideHelp finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.