Encyclopedias
Some encyclopedias and reference texts are available online or can be previewed with Google Books. References can lead to primary sources.
- Historical Encyclopedia of American LaborCall Number: ref HD 8066 .H57 2004Login to HathiTrust for Smith College access, then "check out" the book.
- Work in America: An Encyclopedia of History, Policy, and SocietyCall Number: ref HD 8066 .W637 2003Login as Smith College to check out the ebook in HathiTrust.
- Latinas in the United States: A Historical EncyclopediaCall Number: ref E 184.S75 L35 2006
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismCall Number: ref E184.A1 E584 2013
The Reader's Companion to U. S. Women's History by ISBN: 9780395671733Publication Date: 1998Login to HathiTrust for Smith College access, then "check out" the book.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Keywords:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)
Relevant Collections
Smith College Workers, 1980. Daily Hampshire Gazette. Sophia Smith Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S.,Scholar's Edition [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews & teaching tools relating to US history, as seen through women's eyes.
- History Vault: Struggle for Women's Rights 1880-1990 This link opens in a new windowDigitized records of the National Women's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowSupplements Women and Social Movements, International, exploring prominent themes such as conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
- HistoryMakers This link opens in a new windowStreaming oral history archive, documenting African American contributions to American life, culture, social movements & organizations. Subject coverage includes the arts, business, civics, education, entertainment, law, media, medicine, the military, politics, religion, science, sports & style.
- Gerritsen Collection 1543 -1945 This link opens in a new windowAn international collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals on feminism & the women's rights movement worldwide.
- Everyday Life and Women in America [AM Digital] c. 1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowRare books, pamphlets & periodicals relating to US social & cultural history; strong on conduct & household management; contrasts urban & rural cultures.
Ask Us / Meet with Us
Related Guides
- Find Images GuideHelp finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.