News Images: Current & HistoricalPictures in Print SourcesSmith College Libraries Special Collections
Reproductions in Print Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Find Images  Tags: images pictures illustrations reproductions  

Picture Research Sources & Strategies
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/findimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Pictures in Print Sources            Print Page
  
 

Illustration Indexes

Art Ref & Neilson Ref N7525 .I558
Illustration Index. 2nd-8th eds. New York: Scarecrow Press, 1957-1998.

Indexes to specific images in well-illustrated popular periodicals like American Heritage, Smithsonian, National Geographic, and other titles listed on this page.

Publications Index. National Geographic Society.
Annotated subject index to articles in National Geographic Magazine (1888-date) and other publications of the NGS. Descriptions include information about photos and other illustrations.

 
 

Illustrated Popular Magazines

This is very selective list of long-running, well-illustrated titles. Browse through the stacks near these call numbers for more examples.

General Interest

American Heritage. 1954-date. Neilson Periodicals E171 .A43
Colliers. 1895-1957. Neilson Periodicals AP2.C65
Fortune. 1930-date. Neilson Periodicals HF5001.F7
Life. 1936-1972. Neilson Periodicals AP2.L547
Saturday Evening Post. 1921-date. Neilson Periodicals AP 2.S2
Sears Roebuck Catalogs. 1928-1967, 1978 (with many gaps). Neilson Stacks  658 Se17
Smithsonian. 1970-date. Neilson Periodicals AS30 .S6

Women's Interests

Good Housekeeping. 1888-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998. Art Periodical TT500.H3
The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
McCall’s. 1950-2001. Sophia Smith Collection
Vogue. 1950-date. Sophia Smith Collection

Science & Nature

Discover. 1980-date. Science Periodicals Q1.D5
National Geographic. 1888-date. Neilson Periodicals G1.N27 (online index)
National Wildlife. 1965-2000. Science Periodicals S964.U6 N35
Natural History. 1923-date. Neilson & Science Periodicals QH1 .N13

 
 

Books & Catalogs

Five College Library Catalog
Helpful subject keywords for finding heavily illustrated books and catalogs in all subjects are:

  • Exhibitions
  • In art
  • Illustrations
  • Maps
  • Pictorial Works
  • Photographs
  • Photography
  • Portraits
 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait