News Images: Current & HistoricalPictures in Print SourcesSmith College Libraries Special Collections
Reproductions in Print Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Find Images  Tags: images pictures illustrations reproductions  

Picture Research Sources & Strategies
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/findimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

People, Places, Things & Events            Print Page
  

Photo & Stock Agencies

Commercial sites offer hundreds of thousands of contemporary and archival photos and footage for sale, though users may search and view watermarked images online.

Image Sharing Sites

 

Digital Images in Public Collections

People, Places, Things & Events

These national digital libraries and major digital research collections include thousands of high quality images of original materials in all formats on a wide variety of subjects.

  • Picture Catalogs Online.  
    Guide to about 50 substantial searchable online picture collections hosted by libraries, museums, and archives primarily in the US. Sources "cover historical and documentary images in general subject areas, rather than those that focus on a single topic."
  • American Memory. U.S. Library of Congress  
    Offers more than 7 million "sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience" drawn from more than 100 collections.
  • LIbrary of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division  
    "Online catalog provides access through group or item records to about 75% of the division's holdings.... Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about 1.2 million digital images in all."
  • Online Gallery. British Library  
    More than 30,000 digital images of maps, prints and drawings, photographs, and other documents, and rare early sound recordings from around the globe.
  • Gallica. Bibliotheque National de France  
    Over 80,000 digital images of photographs, prints, drawings, maps, manuscripts, books, and other materials documenting the history and culture of France.
  • Picture Australia. National Library of Australia  
    Australia-related images of "people, places and events in the collections of libraries, museums, galleries, archives, universities and other cultural agencies, in Australia and abroad." Includes contemporary news and historical photos.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery. New York Public Library  
    650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera.
  • USC Libraries Digital Archive  
    "Digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, as well as audio and video recordings [emphasizing] materials related to Los Angeles and the Southern California and the Pacific Rim."
  • Smithsonian Photography Initiative  
    Online database of photographs dating from the 1850s to the present. Subjects include the arts and literature, culture and society, nature and science, industry and technology, history and geography.
  • Visual Arts Data Service  
    Over 100,000 digital images from educational institutions around Britain. Especially strong in applied arts and design-related materials.
 

Special Subjects

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait