Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More People, Places, Things & Events
Image Sharing Sites
"a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to all."
Digital Images in Public Collections
These national digital libraries and major digital research collections include thousands of high quality images of original materials in all formats on a wide variety of subjects.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
“An open, distributed network of comprehensive online resources that ... draw on the nation’s living heritage from libraries, universities, archives, and museums" includes millions of images on a wide range of topics.
Explore 50 million-plus artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe.
Library of Congress. Prints and Photographs Division
"Online catalog provides access through group or item records to about 75% of the division's holdings.... Many of the catalog records are accompanied by digital images--about 1.2 million digital images in all."
Online Gallery. British Library
More than 30,000 digital images of maps, prints and drawings, photographs, and other documents, and rare early sound recordings from around the globe.
Gallica. Bibliotheque National de France
Over a million digital images of photographs, prints, drawings, maps, manuscripts, books, and other materials documenting the history and culture of France.
Picture Catalogs Online.
Guide to about 50 substantial searchable online picture collections hosted by libraries, museums, and archives primarily in the US. Sources "cover historical and documentary images in general subject areas, rather than those that focus on a single topic."
NYPL Digital Gallery. New York Public Library
650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera.
Visual Arts Data Service
Over 100,000 digital images from educational institutions around Britain. Especially strong in applied arts and design-related materials.
Smithsonian Open Access
Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images from their collections without rights restrictions.