Five College Library Catalog
Helpful subject keywords for finding heavily illustrated books and catalogs in all subjects are:
Location of Art Library Materials
Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.
These sources list thousands of works of art reproduced in hundreds of books. Access is provided by artist, title, and in some cases by subject. Entries usually give information on the size of the reproduction and whether it's in black-and-white or in color. Books cited in the indexes that are not available in the Five College library collections can be requested using Smith's Interlibrary Loan Service.
A.L.A. Portrait Index. Art Ref N7620.A2 1906
Art in Life [magazine]. Art Ref N7525.C55
Art in Time [magazine]. Art Ref N7225.H38
Black Artist in America. Art Ref N6538.N5T46 1991
Contemporary Art and Artists. Art Ref N6490.P3234
Index to Art Reproductions in Books. Art Ref N7525.H48 1974
Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Art Ref ND205.M57
Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Art Ref ND205.S575
Index to Reproductions of European Paintings. Art Ref ND45.M6
Index to Two-dimensional Art Works. Art Ref N7525.K67
Photography Index. Art Ref TR199.P37
Print Index. Art Ref NE90.P17 1983
Sculpture Index. Art Ref NB36.C55
Theatrical Design in the Twentieth Century. Josten Ref PN2091.S8T47
World Painting Index. Art Ref ND45.H38
The Imaging Center supports teaching and learning with visual resources for the Smith community. In addition to digitial resources available in the LUNA and ARTstor databases, the center manages extensive circulating Slide and Photo Collections documenting art, architecture, and material culture from a wide geographic and cultural range. The facility is located on level 3 of the Brown Fine Arts Center.
Smith College Special Collections
The collections of the College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Collection include thousands of images including: