Research Guides: REL : Religion: Articles/Databases

Discover Advanced Search

Use Request Item to get books from other campuses

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [EBSCO] 1949+ This link opens in a new window Covers religious and theological scholarship in 1,400 international journals and 14,000 books. Includes citations and some full text.
Index Islamicus [EBSCO] 1906+ This link opens in a new window Lists articles, books, essays, reviews on Islam, the Middle East & the Muslims worldwide. Covers art, archaeology, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, politics, religion, sciences, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies 1960+ This link opens in a new window Standard index to scholarship in several languages on all areas of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index. 1990+ Lists journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews on women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective [EBSCO] 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window Indexes 1,200 scholarly journals and specialized magazines in the social sciences and humanities; with citations to book reviews.

Finding articles
Finding journals by title
Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
Finding historical magazines & newspapers
Finding current news articles