Research Guides: GOV329: Comparative Politics of East Asia: Find Articles & More

Government Websites, Statistical Data

Foreign Governments on the Web
via Northwestern University Libraries
Statistical Resources
Smith College Libraries' guide. NOTE: Statistical Datasets provides access to China Data Center, IMF, World Bank, and other sources.

Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)

Five College Library Catalog

Search by title for books cited in background readings. To find newer sources combine keywords, or use Library of Congress Subject Headings such as these:

[Country name]
-- foreign relations
-- foreign economic relations
-- international status
-- military policy
-- politics and government
East Asia -- Economic conditions
East Asia -- Politics and government
China - Economic conditions
Democratization -- East Asia
Nationalism -- [region or country]
National security -- [country]
Conflict management - East Asia
Dispute resolution (Law) -
Democratization - China
Human trafficking - East Asia
Political development -
Political culture
Political participation
Security, international - Social aspects
ASEAN
Regionalism (International organization)
Finance - Government policy - China
China - Relations - Western countries
Hong Kong (China). Chief Executive -- Elections
Trans-Pacific Strategic Economic Partnership Agreement, (2005)
Water security - International cooperation
Women - Political activity - [country]

Find Journal Articles - Databases for GOV 329

When in doubt, ask us for help. We'll help you searching databases and finding sources for your topic.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window
Includes an option to limit to the decades you are researching, including the 21st century.
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA) [EBSCO] 1951+ This link opens in a new window
IPSA content is NOT included in the Discover search.
Bibliography of Asian Studies [EBSCO] 1971+ This link opens in a new window
Indexes western-language books and articles on all parts of Asia.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 1991+ This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs including journals, books, working papers, NGO papers, proceedings policy briefs and more.

More ways to search: specific language resources

China Academic Journals (Chinese interface) 1994+ This link opens in a new window
Full text of 7,200+ Chinese journals.
China Academic Journals (English interface) 1994+ This link opens in a new window
Full text of 7,200+ Chinese journals.
Chinamaxx Digital Library of Chinese eBooks 1949+ This link opens in a new window
Huge collection of digitized books from China; updated 3 times/year. Search & display the first 17 pp. without charge; click on "recommend" to trigger a library purchase.
Japan Times Digital Archive 1897-2021 This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-image archive of Japan's largest English-language newspaper.
Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei detabesu [Japan] 1868+ This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies; covers local periodicals not indexed elsewhere.