This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Find Statistics & Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

Find Statistics & Data   Tags: census, data, icpsr, quantitative_research, reference, reference_tools, research, statistics  

A guide to online statistical and data resources available through the Smith College Libraries.
Last Updated: Sep 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/statistics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Major Statistical Databases

  • ProQuest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis)
    Indexes statistical information from several sources.
  • Statistical Datasets [Data-Planet]  
      
    Requires updated Java. Interactive access from licensed & public domain sources. Browse, search, view, export data.
  • GSS website
    GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, covering 1972-2012.
  • Data.gov
    The gateway to statistics from U.S. federal agencies.
  • ICPSR Data Archive  
      
    Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. Data, documentation and links to related literature. Access provided by Smith College.
  • Social Explorer. 1790+  
      
    Easy access to demographic information about the U.S. Create a personal account to enable full access off-campus.
  • World Bank Data Catalog. 1960+
    Includes World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, Africa Development Indicators, Education Statistics, etc.
  • Ancestry (Library Edition)
    Census, vital, church, court & immigration records for the US & UK, plus material on other areas. Major components: US federal census 1790-1930 (incl. manuscript returns); historical maps; Social Security Death Index; etc.
 

Related Class Guides

Gateways to Data

These guides provide starting points for locating and downloading statistics and data. Visit these sites for areas of coverage.

footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip