Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Access the most current editions of over 4,000 newspapers & magazines from more than 100 countries in 60 languages. Viewable on PCs, smartphones & tablets.
Smith links to news sites & databases
Start with Background Research & Topic Exploration
Search for historical and contemporary facts and figures, find background information, and connect with some academic sources using reference titles in print and online.
Sse library link to access full content of news. Includes countries reviews with information on governments.
EIU Country Reports
Browse by country or search to find detailed economic and political forecasts. Smith subscription includes several East Asian countries.
Routledge Handbooks Online
Handbook of Democratization in East Asia,
Handbook of Politics in Asia,
Handbook of Asian Regionalism,
Handbook of Chinese Security,
Handbook of Contemporary Taiwan,
Handbook of Environment and Society in Asia,
Handbook of Japanese Politics,
Handbook of Memory and Reconciliation in East Asia,
Get help from Sika Berger