• AfricArXiv: Enhancing the discoverability of research from and about Africa

• BMCC OER by Academic Subject

  A list of dozens of disciplinary and subject-specific open educational resources, from Anthropology to Women & Gender Studies.

• BC Campus Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory

  The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.

• COERLL: The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.

• GoCognitive: Free access to materials for students, educators, and researchers in cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience.

• Humanities Common: MLA-provided network for people working in the humanities. Includes the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials. Offers interdisciplinary connections and allows for sharing in the repository.

• LACLI (Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources): LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. Reuse LACLI to create guides or any other material for non-commercial purposes. This is a Latin America Northeast Libraries Consortium (LANE) project. For more information on project members, visit the About Us page.

• Library of Congress Open Access Books: Search collection by language, subject, date, format...—over 7,000 items.

• OER By Discipline Directory:  The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection are not included in this directory

• OER Commons Hubs: A Hub is a custom resource center on OER Commons where groups can create and share collections associated with a project or organization. Projects, institutions, states and initiatives make use of Hubs to bring groups of educators together to create, organize, and share collections that meet their common goals. Explore hubs like: Climate Education, National Science Digital Library, Open Massachusetts, Nordic University Health Hub, and many more!

• Skills Common: World’s Largest OPEN Library of Workforce Training Materials Designed for 21st Century Employment

• SmART History: the most visited art history resource in the world.

• World Language OER Resource by Subject curated for Smith College

Open Ancillary Materials

• ChemCollective: The ChemCollective contains a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams.

• MyOpenMath: MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content. Students can receive immediate feedback on algorithmically generated questions with numerical or algebraic expression answers. And it can do so much more, providing a full course management system, including file posting, discussion forums, and a full gradebook, all designed with mathematics in mind.

• OER Tools: Documentation for Instructors: Here you will find links to documentation for different tools which can be used in the creation of open educational resources (OER) and/or the implementation of open educational practices (OEP). This document is organized by use case, and features an alphabetical where additional details about each tool (documentation, use cases, and difficulty scales) are provided. 

• OpenSimon: Improve efficiency in your learning space with OpenSimon tools. Engineered by and for instructional designers, teachers and students, our tools take learning to the next level

• OpenStax Assignable: Currently in beta, limited to a handful of subject textbooks, but keep checking! Assignments, and pre- and post-reading assesssment questions integrated into Moodle.
• OpenStax Instructor Account (FREE)

  OpenStax also offers unique textbook-specific sets for teaching that can include PowerPoint slides, solutions manuals, test banks, review questions, and more!

• OpenStax Hub

  OER Commons Hub is a venue for instructors to share ancillary materials that they have created to pair with OpenStax textbooks.

• OpenStax Tutor

  "Enables better learning for your students and easy course creation for you. With digital reading, personalized homework, a library of thousands of assessments, and LMS integration, OpenStax Tutor works well for online, hybrid, and in-person courses."

• Qubes: BioQUEST and the QUBES platform support STEM education projects.The QUBES platform hosts hundreds of teaching materials, reference materials, and cloud-based software free to use and adapt using open Creative Commons licenses.  

• WeBWork

  An Open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems.

Government Resources

Everything published by the Federal government is free of any copyright restrictions.  The research, reports and websites can be useful resources for classes when creating your own course material. Government documents more generally (with some minor exceptions) are also in the public domain:

• USA.gov.
• HathiTrust collection of United Stated Federal Government Documents Registry.
• Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
• Congress.gov
• Census publications, Census data
• A-Z List of Federal Agencies. Try to search a specific agency's website. Many times these materials are not retrieved with simple Google searches.   Here are some examples of US Federal Databases:

  • The Homeland Security Digital Library is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Topics include maritime, unmanned aerial systems, terrorism, epidemics and many more. 

  • SciTech Connect is a collection of science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.

General Images

• Creative Commons Images: Creative Commons image search aggregator.
• FreeImages: Another aptly named site that provides access to free images: Photos, Vectors, Clipart, Icons, PSD & more!
• Gratisography: Royalty free stock photos and images 
• Human Development Institute: A Flickr collection of images of people with disabilities in all aspects of society. All images CC0.
• Indigenous People in Education: Images licensed under CC BY NC SA
• Library of Congress Public Domain Flickr Collection:  Over 22,000 photographs with no copyright restrictions.
• Morguefile: Royalty free stock photos and images.
• Nappy: CC0 "beautifully diverse stock photos."
• The Noun Project: Icons and photos. Our community of designers from 120+ countries is building the most diverse and extensive collection of iconography ever created.
• Open Photo: User generated quality photos organized by themes and tags. Mostly Creative Commons licenses, but check license terms.
• Picjumbo: Free stock photos.
• Pixabay: Royalty free clip art.
• Pixnio: Free images for anyone.
• Public Domain Clip Art: Name says it all.
• Unsplash: The internet’s source for visuals. Powered by creators everywhere.
• Vecteezy: filtered by Creative Commons Vector Art. 357 royalty free vector graphics and clipart.
• Wikimedia Commons: A media commons.

Art & Architecture

• Cleveland Museum of Art: search collection filtered for open access images.
• Europeana:  Search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions, funded by the European Union.
• Getty Open Content Search: Search filtered for open content.
• Metropolitan Museum of Art: Filter by open access
• Open Access at the National Gallery of Art: "The National Gallery of Art has an open access policy for images of works of art in our permanent collection which the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are available for download free of charge for any use, whether commercial or non-commercial."
• Open access image libraries—a handy list: From Apollo: The International Art Magazine. A list of museums and other archives that provide unrestricted downloads of high-resolution images.
• Paris Musées: Over 350,000 images in the public domain.
• Rijksmuseum: Browse 772,396 works of art and 696,160 Rijksstudios (user collection "sets")
• Smithsonian Open Access: " more than 4.5 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."
• Watercolour World:  Free database of pre-1900 documentary watercolours from private as well as public collections around the world.

History

• Library of Congress: Prints & Photographs Reading Room: May not beCreative Commons or openly licensed content; check licenses before reuse.
• New York Public Library Digital Collections: Public Domain Items
• Vintage Stock Photos: Another aptly named resource.

Science

• NASA Images: "NASA has always told its story through its images, a few of which have become icons of human history."
• NOAA Photo Library: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration. Generally speaking, content created by government agencies is free for public use (not copyrighted).
• Images: USGS: "Explore our planet through photography and imagery, including climate change and water all the way back to the 1800s when the USGS was surveying the country by horse and buggy."
• Images from the History of Medicine: "History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century." *Check each image for copyright/licensing information before reuse!
• Public Health Image Library (PHIL): Centers for Disease Control & Prevention. "The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature."

Please note that while some repositories listed below contain public domain or Creative Commons-licensed videos, many include videos that are freely-accessible, but not issued with an open license for reuse or adaptation. In such cases the videos should be accessed by a link.

• National Screening Room

  Digitized video from the collections of the Library of Congress

• Open Images: An open media platform that offers online access to audiovisual archive material to stimulate creative reuse. 

• Big Think

  Interviews, presentations, and roundtable discussions with experts and public figures from a wide range of fields.

• Critical Commons

  “A public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts.” Users post video clips, often with written commentary.

• Internet Archive - Video

  “Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.”

• Library of Congress Webcasts and LoC Film, Video Collections

  Webcasts on a variety of topics across disciplines, along with links to LOC Webcasts Youtube page and link to Film and Video collections.

• Medical Animation Library

  A list of freely-accessible hubs of surgical/medical videos. (Penn Libraries)

• Medline Plus Anatomy Videos

  “These animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.”

• AdViews: Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s–1980s.

• Al Jazeera Video: Video archive of the news organization Al Jazeera.

• American Archive of Public Broadcasting: A collaboration between the Library of Congress and GBH. Discover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America.

• Black Film Archive: An ever-evolving archive dedicated to celebrating the rich history of Black cinema’s past.

• C-Span Video Library: C-SPAN programs by frequently searched categories, a selection of most popular searches, some well-received "fast finds," and a look into the archive at the most popular programs (by online views) for each day of the year. 

• CriticalPast: Vintage stock footage and millions of stock photo images comprising one of the largest royalty-free archive footage collections in the world. 

• National Film Board of Canada: The National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 5,000 productions. Films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. 

• The Open Video Project: A shared digital video collection.

• UbuWeb: UbuWeb presents thousands of avant-garde films & videos for your viewing pleasure. Films are presented for educational and non-commercial use only. All copyrights belong to the artists. 

• Pond5 The Public Domain Project: Thousands of historic media files for your creative projects, however, they impose a license—on public domain work—which may limit commercial use (it is an open question whether a contract overrides federal copyright which maintains that public domain materials are not subject to copyright)

• Videvo: Free stock video footage.

• Acoustic Atlas: The Acoustic Atlas collects the sounds of Montana and the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, along with habitats and species from throughout the Western United States. The 3,091 audio files include sounds of amphibians, birds, fish, invertebrates, mammals, reptiles, and ambient recordings.

• AudionautiX: Royalty free - completely free - for you to download and use (even for commercial purposes) as long as you provide credit.

• ccMixter: A community music remixing site featuring remixes and samples licensed under Creative Commons licenses.

• Free Music Archive: An aptly named free music archive.

• Freesound: Looking for the sound of a chair scrapping or breathing? Freesound is for you.

• Global Music Archives: The GMA’s primary mission is to provide access to sound recordings and images of indigenous music from communities in Africa and the Americas.

• Historical Voices: The purpose of Historical Voices is to create a significant, fully searchable online database of spoken word collections spanning the 20th century - the first large-scale repository of its kind.

• IMSLP Petrucci Music Library: Sharing the world's public domain music.

• Internet Archive: Audio Archive

• Library of Congress: Sound recording collections (Users should keep in mind that the Library of Congress is providing access to these materials strictly for educational and research purposes.)

• Jamendo: Royalty free music

• Moby Gratis: Free Moby music

• Musopen:  Free public domain classical music: recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. 

• National Jukebox: Library of Congress collection of historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. 

• Pond5 The Public Domain Project: Thousands of historic media files for your creative projects.

• Recorded Sound Archives: Florida Atlantic University project dedicated to the preservation of recorded Jewish music.

• Silverman Sound Studios: Free music for creators.

• Strachwitz Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican-American Recordings: Over 125,000 songs celebrating North America’s Spanish-language musical heritage