Research Guides: FMS : Film & Media Studies: Articles

Databases & Journals

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window
Sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies to 2000. Included is full text of core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, radio & TV broadcasting, and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text [EBSCO] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Framework: The Journal of Cinema and Media An international, peer reviewed journal dedicated to theoretical and historical work on the diverse and current trends in media and film scholarship.
International Journal of Performance Arts and Digital Media Draws its contributions from academics and practitioner-researchers at the interface of new media technologies and performance. It acts as a forum for critical scholarship, innovative practice, and creative pedagogy, addressing themes that may be domain-specific (e.g. theatre, dance, music, live art, computer science) or situated at the convergence of two or more disciplines.
Journal of Cinema and Media Studies Fosters engaged debate and rigorous thinking among humanities scholars of film, television, digital media, and other audiovisual technologies.

Get help with articles

Finding articles
Finding journals by title
Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.
Finding historical magazines & newspapers
Finding current news articles

FMS : Film & Media Studies

Databases & Journals

More Article Databases

Get help with articles