Getting started
- Companion to Film Theory An international and interdisciplinary comprehensive overview of the field of Film Theory.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography [Gale] This link opens in a new window Lengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowReview essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowDRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Keywords:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)