Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)
SIGN IN first to use Place Request -- get books from other campuses
Find More Books
- American Film Institute Catalog [ProQuest] 1893-1974 This link opens in a new window Searchable database of American films, comprehensive for 1893-1974, with added records for selected major films from later years (from AFI's 100 Years and Top Ten lists). Access by title, director, character, cast, crew, songs, genre, etc.
- Film Scripts Online [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays, for both classic & contemporary films from both American & foreign studios: Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, StudioCanal, Ealing, Newmarket Press, etc. Also includes the British Film Institute’s Film Classics books, providing deep analysis of the most well-known classics in cinematic history.
- Books in Print 1979+ (Subscription ends 11/1/2024) This link opens in a new window Information on all books (scholarly, popular, adult, juvenile, reprint, etc.) on all subjects currently published and distributed in the U.S. With out-of-print titles from 1979 to the present.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog This link opens in a new window Smith College is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which acquires and preserves "unique and little-known documents." The collections, which number about five million items, are international in scope and made available to researchers at member institutions through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and on-site use at CRL in Chicago. Read more....
- Europeana This link opens in a new window Europe's answer to Google Books. Includes videos and images too.
- Film Index International [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Produced by the British Film Institute. In-depth indexing of thousands of films, from the silent era to current films; biographical information; coverage of international film awards & prizes; searchable plot summaries plus full cast & crew lists.
- Google Books This link opens in a new window Indexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
- HathiTrust This link opens in a new window Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
- WorldCat (all dates) This link opens in a new window Extensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
New Film Studies Books
- Suggest a purchaseSuggest a purchase for a book, CD, or DVD!
Browse for New Books by Subject
Browse new books at Smith by using the Subject filter.
