Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Smith College Archives biographical research resources: Resources at Smith

Sources in the College Archives for biographical research

Overview

Read the “Scope and Contents” and the "Biographical/Historical" notes in the finding aids for more information on each individual collection.
 

For information about Alumnae

Alumnae Register 1871-2004

List of Smith students. Sometimes student names are missing, but often former members of the class are listed. Located in the Special Collections Reading Room.

 

Alumnae Class Records

Archival records kept for each graduating class.

Search for "Class of XXXX". For example, "Class of 1902" would be part of Classes of 1901-1910 records

 

Alumnae Biographical Files

Part of Alumnae Class Records. 

Search for "Class of XXXX". For example, "Class of 1902" would be part of Classes of 1901-1910 records

Example: Mary Louise Bancroft

 

Smith College Yearbook  

Smith College Yearbooks/Class books from 1897-1933 are digitized: College Publications
Full run available in the Special Collections Reading Room for research.

 

Smith Alumnae Quarterly

The Smith Alumnae Quarterly (SAQ) was established in 1909 and is published by College Relations four times each year. They include life updates submitted by alumnae, class notes, obituaries, reports on campus events (such as commencement), plus articles about alumnae, faculty, and more.

Full run is digitized: College Publications

 

Directories

Lists of contact information for students, faculty, and staff. A good resource to see what houses students lived in on campus.

They can be found under Directories in the Smith College publications and publications records

 

Commencement Programs

Programs listing members of the graduating class, including graduate students. These are located in the Special Collections Reading Room.

 

Smith College Circulars/Bulletins/Catalog

List of courses taught at Smith. Multiple years are grouped together in one volume. Provides information about courses taught, sometimes the list of students by class, graduate assistant positions, and other information.

Digitized from 1872-2012: College Publications

 

Office of the Registrar

CA-MS-01054
The majority of the Office of the Registrar records includes grade sheets and transcripts. Other material includes commencement files, statistics, original exams, reports, correspondence, and information on Junior Year Abroad, Honors List and Deans list candidates.

IMPORTANT NOTE ON ACCESS: Student academic records, student disciplinary records, and all records containing FERPA-covered student information are closed during the lifetime of the student. Student records created 100 years or more ago are assumed to be about deceased students.

Materials that are currently open for research are located under College register volumes, 1879 - 1930.

 

Reunion books

Reunion books are published by the Classes at regular intervals and provide members of the Class with an opportunity to bring their classmates up-to-date on individual activities.  Reunion books have been generally published at the 10th, 25th and 50th Class reunions, although some classes produced them more often.  Participation in writing a piece for the reunion book was/is totally voluntary.

These are located in the Alumnae Class Records (see above)

For information about Faculty

Faculty Biographical Files

Many faculty and staff have individual files or even their own collections of papers in the College Archives. You can begin by searching their name in the finding aids.

Files: Faculty and staff biographical files

Examples of individual collections for faculty and staff: Alice Ambrose Lazerowitz and Morris Lazerowitz papers or the Margaret Storrs Grierson papers

 

Smith College Circulars/Bulletins/Catalog

List of courses taught at Smith. Multiple years are grouped together in one volume. Provides information about courses taught, sometimes the list of students by class, graduate assistant positions, and other information.

Digitized from 1872-2012: College Publications

 

Office of the President records

Each president has their own "Office of the President" files. Includes information about faculty, courses, events, etc.

Example: Office of President William Allan Neilson Files

 

Smith Alumnae Quarterly

The Smith Alumnae Quarterly (SAQ) was established in 1909 and is published by College Relations four times each year. They include life updates submitted by alumnae, class notes, obituaries, reports on campus events (such as commencement), plus articles about alumnae, faculty, and more.

Full run is digitized: College Publications

 

Presidents Reports

The Presidents Reports are publications from the president of the college about the state of the college and happenings on campus. Fewer reports are published starting around the 1970's. Presidents Reports are located in the Reading Room.

For information about Academic Departments

Departmental Records 

Departmental records can include courses taught, syllabi, faculty notes on classes, and more.

Departments could have a single file in the Academic Departments records or a separate collection. Search "Department Records" in the finding aid for a full list.

Academic Departments records (Individual files for different academic departments)

Examples of department records collections:

Department of English Records

Department of Exercise and Sport Studies records

 

Smith College Circulars/Bulletins/Catalog

List of courses taught at Smith. Multiple years are grouped together in one volume. Provides information about courses taught, sometimes the list of students by class, graduate assistant positions, and other information.

Digitized from 1872-2012: College Publications

 

Office of the President records

Each president has their own "Office of the President" files. Includes information about faculty, courses, departments, events, etc.

Example: Office of President William Allan Neilson Files

 

Presidents Reports

The Presidents Reports are publications from the president of the college about the state of the college and happenings on campus. Fewer reports are published starting around the 1970's. Presidents Reports are located in the Reading Room.

Sophia Smith Collection

Alumnae, faculty, and staff may have collections in the Sophia Smith Collection if they donated their papers regarding their professional life. Examples include the Madeleine L’Engle, and Anne Morrow Lindbergh papers.

Mortimer Rare Book Collection

Archival Collections

Alumnae, faculty, and staff may have collections in the Mortimer Rare Book Collection if they donated their papers regarding their professional life. Examples include the Ann M. Martin papers and then Newton Arvin papers.

 
Rare Book Collections

Some alumnae, faculty, and staff collected books that are now part of the Mortimer Rare Book Collection. Search their name in catalog, choosing "SC Special Collections" as the location. They are often listed under "Other Author(s)".

Examples:

Sally Taft Duplaix Collection (Sally Taft Duplaix, attended 1954-1956)

Robert and Judith Raymo Chaucer Collection at Smith College (Judith Raymo ’53)

College Publications

College Publications in the Collection

Smith College publications and publications records

 

College Publications Online

Digitized College Publications

 

College Publications in the Reading Room

Smith College Circulars/Bulletins/Catalog

Smith Alumnae Quarterly

Smith College Yearbook

Commencement Programs

Smith College Weekly/SCAN/Sophian

Smith College Monthly

Reports of the President

For information about student life, sports, and the built and natural landscape of Smith

Student Clubs and Organizations

Individual organizations and clubs could have a file in the Student Clubs and Organizations records or their own individual collections that can be found by searching the finding aid.

 

Athletics Subject Files

Includes information about student athletes, coaches, and other staff.


Buildings Records

The Buildings records focus on the College's buildings, both existing and demolished. The collection includes information not only about the buildings themselves, but also about what occurred / occurs in the buildings, especially student houses and the students that lived in them.
 

Grounds subject files

The Grounds subject files contain materials describing the history of the campus as a botanic garden and the changes to the master plan, lists of plantings and specimen placement, as well as information regarding the physical features of the campus, such as Paradise Pond, and structures and memorial pieces such as the Grecourt Gates and Lanning fountain