If you are unable to visit the reading room, there are ways you can find select information online about students who attended Smith. Below we have outlined the most helpful resources to begin your research using digitized materials.
 

Graduation year or years attended

1. Yearbooks/Class Books of Smith College
   • Classes of 1897 through 1933 completely digitized, as well as select few other years.
   • linked through the finding aid and Internet Archive
2. Smith College Curriculum Catalogue
   • Catalog of courses and additional key information for student reference, including campus life, financial information and academic programs. Currently known as the Smith College Bulletin, the digital archive includes catalogs from 1872-2012.
   • Through the first several decades of Smith's history, every student who was in attendance was listed by Class each year they attended. This is particularly helpful to find the names of students who did not graduate or switched class years.
   • linked through the finding aid and Internet Archive
   • Bound in batches
3. Class collections
   Class collections (such as Class of 1920) will have pictures from important events for each class (commencement, rally day, sophomore carnival, etc.). Sometimes students will have their own file which may contain photographs or biographical information, and occasionally letters and scrapbooks.
4. Smith Alumnae Quarterly (SAQ)
   Contains updates about alumnae's lives if they submitted them. Students who did not graduate (“Ex” class members”) sometimes appear in SAQ.

Transcripts

Transcripts (as part of the Office of the Registrar records), student academic records, and all records containing FERPA-covered student information are closed during the lifetime of the student. Student records created 100 years or more ago are assumed to be about deceased students. If you would like to request a student transcript, please email specialcollections@smith.edu with a link or pdf of an obituary. 

Student Housing

• Smith Houses - Very brief overviews of the house histories Information about approved off-campus board houses: Administration of Houses A-Z (1910-1925)
• This, The House We Live In: The Smith College Campus From 1871 to 1982 by Eleanor T. Lincoln - Brief histories of Smith-affiliated building histories, on and off campus. There is a digitized copy (linked through the catalog record). There is a copy at Kate Long’s desk and several through library collections at Smith and the Five Colleges through the library catalog.
• House records - Each house has a file in the Buildings Records CA-MS-00104. Often there were group photographs taken of all of the residents.

How to search Smith Alumnae Quarterly

The Smith Alumnae Quarterly (SAQ), contains updates about alumnae's lives (if they submitted them) as well as news about Smith College including faculty hires, commencement, honorary degrees, obituaries, and other significant events on campus. The Smith Alumnae Quarterly Issue Archive allows you to search issues from October 1909 to the present.

If you click on any of the editions of SAQ, click on it again and then you will see a magnifying glass in the bottom right of the window (see image "SAQ search 1" attached). Then use the search bar on the right to search for a name or phrase. There are two circles at the top of that search, one that looks like a single book and one that looks like several books sitting side by side on a shelf (see image "SAQ search 2" attached). Make sure you click the one with multiple books so it will search all of the SAQ volumes. For more information on navigating the digital archive, follow the directions in the How to Use Our Digital Edition PDF.

      SAQ search 1   

   SAQ search 2