Evidence of a student's experience at Smith can appear all throughout the collections of College Archives.

In addition to the online resources (many of which are keyword searchable), there are non-digitized materials you can access in person if you visit the Reading Room. Collection lists for frequently asked questions can be see below and link out to the "finding aid" (collection inventory). To learn more about these resources, please read the "Collections at Smith" page in this guide.

Class Year

1. Depending on the year, yearbooks may include photographs of the seniors who lived in each campus house. Yearbooks are also called Class Books, The Hamper, and The Madeleine depending on the year.
   File: Yearbooks
   Collection: Student publications and student publications records
    
2. Card Catalog
   The card catalog in the Reading Room sometimes has card entries for students (as well as faculty, staff, and distinguished visitors) that point to locations where to find certain information.
    
3. Class records
   Sometimes a student will have their own file in the records for their class year
    
4. Smith Alumnae Quarterly
   Lists of graduates were often included in issues published right after graduation

For more resources, see the "Research a Smith (Remote)" page

Student Housing

1. Catalogues and circulars
   Depending on the year, student houses are listed. Circulars are physically and digitally available from 1872 through the present but it is not consistent on whether or not housing is listed.
   File: Catalogues and circulars
   Collection: Smith College publications and publications records
    
2. Directories
   Directories will show where students lived each year of their time at Smith between 1913 through 2003
   File: Directories
   Collection: Smith College publications and publications records
    
3. Yearbooks
   Depending on the year, yearbooks may include photographs of the seniors who lived in each campus house. Yearbooks are also called Class Books, The Hamper, and The Madeleine depending on the year.
   File: Yearbooks
   Collection: Student publications and student publications records
    
4. House records
   Each house has a file in the Buildings Records. Often there were group photographs taken of all of the residents. The Buildings records are organized alphabetically.

For more resources, see the "Research a Smith (Remote)" page

Academics

1. Commencement pamphlets
   These could include the student's major and if they graduated with honors

Transcripts

Transcripts (as part of the Office of the Registrar records), student academic records, and all records containing FERPA-covered student information are closed during the lifetime of the student. Student records created 100 years or more ago are assumed to be about deceased students. If you would like to request a student transcript, please email specialcollections@smith.edu with a link or pdf of an obituary. 

Student Publications

There were many student publications throughout Smith's history where students could publish their writing or be featured in an article. These publications can be found in the Student publications and student publications records.

Student Activities and Athletics

1. Yearbooks
   Club memberships and often photographs are featured in the yearbooks. This could possible include names of students who were not seniors, but members of the club for the academic year.
    
2. Student Clubs and Organizations records
   Note: Select clubs may also have their own collection of records, such as the Black Students Alliance records.
    
3. Athletics Subject Files
   Team member names and often photographs are featured in the yearbooks. This could possible include names of students who were not seniors, but on the team for the academic year.

Graduate Students

Graduate students often have less records in the archive. In addition to searching the above records, you can also search

1. Academic department records they were a part of
   Graduate students could have also served as teaching assistants and there could be material related to coursework or in department meeting minutes
    
2. Circular/Course catalogue
   Graduate students and teaching assistants are listed in early years