Popular & Trade Magazines
Fashion & Women's Interests
- Women's Magazine Archive.
Contains (each from their start to 2005): Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents; Redbook; Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman’s Day, and Women’s International Network News. - American Fabrics. 1948-1959. Art Periodical TS1300 .A17
- Good Housekeeping. 1888-1992. Sophia Smith Collection (for complete digital edition see Women's Magazine Archive)
- Harper’s Bazaar. 1867-1998. Art Periodical TT500.H3
(for complete digital edition see Harper's Bazaar Archive) - The Ladies’ Home Journal. 1892-1992. Sophia Smith Collection
(for complete digital edition see Women's Magazine Archive) - McCall’s. 1950-2001. Sophia Smith Collection
- Vogue. 1950-date. Sophia Smith Collection
(for complete digital edition see Vogue Archive)
General Interest
- Colliers. 1895-1957. SC Annex AP2.C65
- Fortune. 1930-date. SC Annex HF5001.F7
- Life. 1936-1972. SC Annex AP2.L547
(for complete digital edition see Life Magazine Archive) - Saturday Evening Post. 1921-date. SC Annex AP2.S
- Scientific American. 1845-date. Digitial edition in Nature.com
News Sources
A great source of descriptive information as well as editorial and advertising photos and illustrations. (article on the Ruth Snyder murder trial, New York Times, March 23, 1927, p.1)
Historical Newspapers & Photos
- New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new window
- New York Herald Tribune [ProQuest] 1841-1962 This link opens in a new window
- AP Images [EBSCO] 1840+ This link opens in a new windowEasily search across 750,000+ images from the 1840s to the present. Also includes graphics, maps, illustrations, and logos dating back to the 1920s.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from the Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, New York Herald Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Jerusalem Post, New York Amsterdam News, and Times of India.
- Find NewsSmith links to news sites & databases
Special Resource: Sears, Roebuck & Co. Catalogs
- Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new windowHistoric Catalogs of Sears, Roebuck and Co., 1896-1993.
To connect to the Sears catalogs:
- click on "Search" in the top menu bar,
- select "Card Catalog" from the dropdown menu
- type sears roebuck into search by title box
- click the enter button.
- SC Annex 658 Se17
Print copies of Sears Roebuck catalogs.
Library has 1928-1967, 1978 (with many gaps). Issued twice a year.
- Check the Discover Advanced Search for "Everyday Fashions as Pictured in Sears Catalogs" series covering 1900s to the 1960s.
More: Images in Magazines
Illustration Indexes. New York : Scarecrow Press, 1957-1998.
Art Reference N7525 .I558
Indexes to specific images in well-illustrated popular periodicals like American Heritage, Smithsonian, National Geographic, and other titles.