Article Search Tips
Journal Locator - Search by journal title or citation for online and print journals.
- Use the buttons within the databases to see if Smith has the article you need either in electronic or print format
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles not at Smith College. Please allow about 3-10 days for delivery.
Boolean & Wildcards
AND: Use to combine two or more variables; AND narrows your search:
- substance abuse AND short-term therapy
OR: Use when searching for synonymous or closely-related terms; OR broadens your search:
- substance abuse or drug abuse or alcoholism or drug addition or . . .
* : The asterisk (shift/8 on the keyword) is the truncation symbol used in most databases. It's a quick shorthand for singular, plural, noun and adjectival forms of words. For examples, addict* looks for: addict, addicts, addiction, addictions, addictive, etc.
Using the PsycInfo Thesaurus
Evidence Based Practice Databases (incl. systematic reviews)
Use the sources below for background, context, definitions, a list of suggested readings, and leads on related primary source material.
- PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new windowLists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed. - Medline [EBSCO] 1950s+ This link opens in a new windowAlternative to the PubMed interface.
Search with one line of advanced search for:
"evidence based" or "systemic review" - PsycINFO [EBSCO] 1887+ This link opens in a new windowWorldwide coverage of 1300+ journals, books and dissertations in the behavioral sciences, psychology, mental health, medicine, etc.
- AgeInfo [Centre for Policy on Ageing, UK]Lists articles, books & reports.
- Social Work Abstracts [EBSCO] 1965+ This link opens in a new windowIndexes 450 social work and human service journals, covering theory & practice, areas of service and social issues & progress. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Social Services Abstracts [ProQuest] 1980+ This link opens in a new windowAbstracts of journal articles, dissertations and book reviews on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Reference Center [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based collection including care sheets, quick lessons, skill competency checklists, clinical assessment tools, practice guidelines, drug information, continuing education modules & patient education information.
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new windowIncludes Social Sciences Citation Index (as well as Science Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index). Use to identify other articles that cite a specific work or author.
- ERIC [EBSCO] 1966+ This link opens in a new windowMajor database in the field of education; use for any topic that relates to schools, students, curricular issues, etc.
