Databases platformed by Gale, which is any database that says "Gale" in brackets on the Libraries' database list, have built-in screen reader software for articles and ebooks. However, many Gale databases are dedicated to primary sources and archives; unfortunately, these texts do not feature a built-in screen reader, and also have a hard time being read by outside screen reader software. There are resources and tips at the bottom of this page on how to use a screen reader with these kinds of texts.

Almost all articles and eBooks in Gale databases have a built-in screen reading feature. How to access it:

• Click on your selected article and scroll down to locate the menu bar.

• Navigate to the volume button all the way to the right side of the menu. A progress bar will appear and the text-to-speech player will immediately begin speaking.

• Click on the gear icon to change a variety of settings, including speed and word highlighting.

More about accessibility features in Gale.

More detailed instructions, and noted limitations, about the text-to-speech player in Gale.

Gale's primary sources and archives collections do not have a built-in screenreading feature. Outside screenreaders often have a difficult time with these types of texts. Check out these sources for some tips on reading primary sources and archives with screenreaders.

An assessment from the Library Accessibility Alliance detailing the limitations with Gale Primary Source databases and screenreaders.

A resource from Perkins School For The Blind that offers some helpful tips for reading primary sources and archives with low vision.