Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)
SIGN IN first to use Place Request -- get books from other campuses
DSM-5
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5.Call Number: ebook
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 (In-library Reference) by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Call Number: SC Neilson Reference / RC455.2.C4 D536 2013Library InfoISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Find More Books
- National Library of Medicine Locator Plus Catalog of books and other materials.
- Books in Print 1979+ (Subscription ends 11/1/2024) This link opens in a new window Information on all books (scholarly, popular, adult, juvenile, reprint, etc.) on all subjects currently published and distributed in the U.S. With out-of-print titles from 1979 to the present.
- Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog This link opens in a new window Smith College is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which acquires and preserves "unique and little-known documents." The collections, which number about five million items, are international in scope and made available to researchers at member institutions through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and on-site use at CRL in Chicago. Read more....
- PsycBOOKS [EBSCO] 1806+ This link opens in a new window PDF chapters from books published by the APA and others; with 800 classic psychology books and articles from the Encyclopedia of Psychology (APA/Oxford).
- PsycCRITIQUES 1956-2017 This link opens in a new window Book and film reviews in the behavioral sciences; from the APA. Discontinued in 2017; archived version available through the Center for the History of Psychology at the University of Akron.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window Includes handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and substantive texts from Sage.
- WorldCat (all dates) This link opens in a new window Extensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
E-Books
- Springer E-books SearchMore than 25,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service
- ProQuest Ebook CentralOver 100 publishers (and growing) are making their eBooks on this platform available for unlimited use, rather than being restricted to a certain number of users.
- National Academies Press (National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine)Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
- Google Books This link opens in a new windowIndexes the full text of a growing number of books. For some books complete text is online; for others only a small portion. No printing or downloading.
- eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.