Mathematics Databases
- Compendex 1969+ This link opens in a new window Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to journals and conference papers.
- Computers and Applied Sciences Complete [EBSCO] Covers all aspects of the applied sciences, including engineering, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
- Engineering Village 1884+ This link opens in a new window Smith’s access to the Engineering Village platform includes Ei Compendex (1884-present), which is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available. It also includes GEOBASE, which covers international geoscience literature (1973-present).
- General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ This link opens in a new window Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
- INSPEC [EBSCO] 1969+ This link opens in a new window Produced by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, covers scientific and technical information in five main subject areas: physics; electrical engineering and electronics; computers and control; information technology for business; and mechanical and production engineering.
- MathSciNet (AMS interface) 1940+ This link opens in a new window Reviews, abstracts, and citations for the world's mathematical literature including Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
- Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
- arXiv.org Automated archive for research papers in physics, mathematics and other fields.
Related Math & Science Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
- Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- BrowZine This link opens in a new window Search online journals from Smith's collection and from open-access titles. Create your own bookshelf, create alerts, and sync across devices. See help for more information and download instructions for mobile version.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
- Ingenta 1997 to date This link opens in a new window Free searching and browsing of over 25 million articles, chapters, reports, etc. publications in all fields.
- SciTech Connect This link opens in a new window Science, technology, and engineering research information (articles, datasets) from the U.S. Department of Energy.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Get help with articles
- Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.