- Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new windowFull text of all staff-written news stories, features, columns, and editorials with images.
- Chicago Defender Historical [ProQuest] 1905-1975 This link opens in a new windowOnline archive of articles, editorial cartoons, photographs, advertisements, etc. from this important African-American newspaper.
- Chicago Tribune Historical [ProQuest] 1849+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new windowFull text newspaper, with images.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive [Gale] 1897-2016 This link opens in a new windowImportant, alternative news perspective, compared to the London Times; targeted at the British lower and middle classes, with a large female readership.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003 This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, presenting a vivid picture of British & world events, including news of war, disaster, ceremonies, the arts & science.
- New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new windowFull text, including images, of the New York Times, excluding the most recent 4 years.
- Republican (Springfield, MA) 1850-1987 This link opens in a new windowPart of America's Historical Newspapers. To search just this title, click on Places of Publication / Massachusetts, then scroll to the Springfield listings (Springfield Republican, Springfield Union, etc.)
- Times (London) Sunday Digital Archive [Gale] 1822-2016 This link opens in a new windowComplete digital edition of The Sunday Times (London), including articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
- Times (London) Digital Archive [Gale] (lacks current 6 years) This link opens in a new windowComplete digital edition of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
- Japan Times Digital Archive 1897-2021 This link opens in a new windowSearchable, full-image archive of Japan's largest English-language newspaper.
North America
- America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, based on the Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers series.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new windowFull text articles from The Christian Recorder, The Colored American/Weekly Advocate, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, The National Era, The North Star, Provincial Freeman, and Douglass Monthly.
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 This link opens in a new windowFull text compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the US during the 19th & 20th centuries; includes many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish & English.
United Kingdom
- Nineteenth Century British Newspapers [Gale] 1800-1913 This link opens in a new windowIncludes 48 national, regional & local newspapers, selected to best document 19th century Britain.
- Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers [Gale] 1604-1804 This link opens in a new windowEarly English news media including the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets & books gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Nichols Collection Newspapers [Gale] 1672-1737 This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text access to the John Nichols collection of newspapers; Nichols (1745-1826) was a prominent printer, author & editor. His collection was purchased by Oxford's Bodleian Library in 1865.
Latin America
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 & 2, 1805-1922 This link opens in a new windowOnline access to hundreds of newspapers published in the 19th & early 20th centuries; featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and twelve other countries. Includes eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries, etc.
Japan
- Yomidasu Rekishikan 1874+ This link opens in a new windowArticles from four Yomiuri newspapers: Yomiuri Shimbun, The Daily Yomiuri, Jinbutsu, and Meiji Taisho Showa (1874-1989 only).
Multiple Countries
- RetroNews 1631-1951 This link opens in a new windowDigitized articles from ~1500 French national, regional, local and colonial newspapers, covering over three centuries.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new windowFull text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Find News Research Guide
Four Vending Machines © Cameron Casey, CC BY-SA 2.0