Getting Started
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Contains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window Articles on African American history, literature, and culture from scholarly reference works.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window A scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window Review essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online This link opens in a new window Reference content & commentary by renowned scholars, plus Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps & timelines. Includes Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World and other core reference works on Islam.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window Scholarly, continuously-updated encyclopedias, designed to provide contextual guidance at the start of research projects on unfamiliar topics. Full access to the American History Encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Social Work, with some free content in all other subjects.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window DRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowReliable scholarly biographies of major figures in American history.
- Oxford Dictionary of African BiographyProvides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa’s history, covering the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia. Time period coverage is from 1490 BCE to the present.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (Subscription ends 10/1/24) This link opens in a new window50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the 4th century BC to the year 2001. 2nd edition, with illustrations.
- Who's Who and Who Was Who 1898+ This link opens in a new windowShort biographies of Britons, and international figures, living and deceased. Links to longer articles in the Dictionary of National Biography.
- Ancestry (Library Edition) This link opens in a new windowCensus, vital, church, court & immigration records for the US & UK, plus material on other areas. Major components: US federal census 1790-1940 (incl. manuscript returns); historical maps; Social Security Death Index; etc.
- Decennial Censuses and Census of Population and HousingData from the most recent U.S. census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades, from 1790 to the present.
- Historical Statistics of the United States 1531-2000 This link opens in a new windowCovers population, work & welfare, the economy, and government. Data may be downloaded and custom tables created. Includes essays, data reliability and references to secondary literature.
- Social Explorer 1790+ This link opens in a new windowEasy access to demographic information about the U.S. Off-campus users: first click in upper right corner - Professional Edition provided by Smith College - and create a personal account for full functionality.
