Discover Advanced Search (Catalog Only)
SIGN IN first to use Place Request—get books from other campuses
eBooks
-
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window The major collection of Greek & Latin texts, continuously updated. Highly searchable, with single- & dual-language reading modes; marking & annotation features, plus tools for sharing; ability to create & save bookshelf.
-
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window Full text eBooks in the humanities, from the American Council of Learned Societies and other learned societies and academic publishers.
-
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window Full text books & journals digitized by HathiTrust partner libraries, Google, the Internet Archive, etc. Includes searchable access to over 10 million volumes total; 3 million public domain volumes are fully viewable online and allow downloading one page at a time. Complements Google Books.
-
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 [EBSCO] 1493-1750 This link opens in a new window Contains over 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to books and pamphlets about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
-
JapanKnowledge This link opens in a new windowOffers 50+ reference titles, mostly in Japanese, but some in English. These include language dictionaries, historical encyclopedias, etc.
Find Additional Books & Archival Materials
-
Five College Archives & Manuscript Collections This link opens in a new window Search over 1,500 finding aids describing the archives and manuscripts found at the Five Colleges.
-
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog This link opens in a new window Smith College is a member of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL), which acquires and preserves "unique and little-known documents." The collections, which number about five million items, are international in scope and made available to researchers at member institutions through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and on-site use at CRL in Chicago. Read more....
-
WorldCat (all dates) This link opens in a new window Extensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
-
Archive Grid This link opens in a new window Detailed archival collection descriptions & finding aids from libraries, museums, historical societies & archives in the US.
New History Books
-
Suggest a purchaseSuggest a purchase for a book, CD, or DVD!