Geoscience Databases
-
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database [ProQuest] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information related to agricultural and environmental issues.
-
Biological Abstracts [Web of Science] 1926+ This link opens in a new window Indexes articles in the life sciences and biomedical fields: biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, zoology, agriculture, etc.
-
Compendex 1969+ This link opens in a new window Comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to journals and conference papers.
-
Earthquake Engineering Online Archive National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering
-
Geobase 1973+ This link opens in a new window Lists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
-
GeoRef [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Extensive index to articles, books, maps, papers, reports, etc. on the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geology from 1933+.
-
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window Access over 210,000 full-text articles from 53 journals. Includes access to OpenGeoSci.
General Science Databases
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window Largest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
-
BrowZine This link opens in a new window Search online journals from Smith's collection and from open-access titles. Create your own bookshelf, create alerts, and sync across devices. See help for more information and download instructions for mobile version.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library 1872+ This link opens in a new window Full text journals across the fields of electrical and biomedical engineering, communications, computer science, aerospace, energy, robotics, etc.. Also contains IEEE conference proceedings, standards and added content from IET, VDE & Bell Lab.
-
Science Direct This link opens in a new window Indexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new window Comprehensive chemical literature database. Requires registration here [use @smith.edu]. See SciFinder Support & Training for more info.
-
Web of Science 1898+ This link opens in a new window (Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
Science Librarian
Get Citation Help
Get help with articles
-
Citing your sources Smith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.