General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
Geobase 1973+This link opens in a new windowLists research literature on earth sciences: geology, geography, environmental science, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy, pollution, waste management & conservation. Covers journals, trade publications, book & conference proceedings.
GeoRef [EBSCO]This link opens in a new windowExtensive index to articles, books, maps, papers, reports, etc. on the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and world geology from 1933+.
Agricola [EBSCO] 1970+This link opens in a new windowIndexes 2,000+ journals and books, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, theses, patents, and more on all aspects of agriculture.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowLargest abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature in all disciplines. Covers articles, books, conference proceedings & patents. Incorporates smart tools to track, analyze & visualize research.
BrowZineThis link opens in a new windowSearch online journals from Smith's collection and from open-access titles. Create your own bookshelf, create alerts, and sync across devices. See help for more information and download instructions for mobile version.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies [Gale]This link opens in a new windowFocuses on environmental issues around topics such as earth systems, energy, global change, land & water use, legislation & policy, and population. Draws on academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistical data, and rich multimedia. Navigate by issue, organization, and state & province.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowLinks to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library 1872+This link opens in a new windowFull text journals across the fields of electrical and biomedical engineering, communications, computer science, aerospace, energy, robotics, etc.. Also contains IEEE conference proceedings, standards and added content from IET, VDE & Bell Lab.
Science DirectThis link opens in a new windowIndexes 2500 journals and 6000 books in science, technology and the social sciences from Elsevier Science.
SciFinderThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive chemical literature database. Requires registration here [use @smith.edu]. See SciFinder Support & Training for more info.
Web of Science 1898+This link opens in a new window(Formerly Web of Knowledge) Indexes and abstracts science & technology journals (1899+), social science journals (1898+), and arts & humanities journals (1975+) published around the world; offers cited reference searching.
Citing your sourcesSmith Libraries guide links to online versions of MLA, Chicago, and other popular manuals for writing papers and formatting footnote and bibliography citations. Includes a section on how to cite images.