Research Guides: FYS179: Rebellious Women: Articles & Videos

News Sources

Access World News [NewsBank] (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Current and archived news content including local, state, national and international newspapers, broadcast transcripts, news wires, news blogs, video, etc.
Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new window Full text of all staff-written news stories, features, columns, and editorials with images.
Daily Hampshire Gazette [NewsBank] 1994+ This link opens in a new window Covers local news, sports, and classifieds for Northampton and surrounding towns.
Republican (Springfield, MA) 1850-1987 This link opens in a new window Part of America's Historical Newspapers. To search just this title, click on Places of Publication / Massachusetts, then scroll to the Springfield listings (Springfield Republican, Springfield Union, etc.)

Find News
Smith links to news sites & databases

Discover Advanced Search

Use Request Item to get books from other campuses

Scholarly Article Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new window Full text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Restrict your search to the discipline you need, i.e. History, Feminist & Women's Studies, and/or specific ethnic studies.
LGBTQ+ Source [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Core journals on gay, lesbian, bisexual & transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, work, family, history, psychology, religion, sociology, etc.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.

Videos

Academic Video Online (AVON) [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming video across all subject areas. Includes documentaries, and content from a variety of news sources, including PBS and BBC.
HistoryMakers This link opens in a new window Streaming oral history archive, documenting African American contributions to American life, culture, social movements & organizations. Subject coverage includes the arts, business, civics, education, entertainment, law, media, medicine, the military, politics, religion, science, sports & style.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming educational & feature films across all disciplines, with films from the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion, PBS & many others. Create a free Kanopy account on campus, then connect to a Kanopy app and watch on your mobile device or smart TV. See Kanopy Help.

LGBTQ Cinema Collection (Kanopy) A subset of Kanopy's vast collection of streaming films focused on LGBTQ Cinema
Smith College Streaming Media More databases & resources for streaming video and audio at Smith College.

Sample Topic

LETTER FROM MARGARET SANGER TO ALBERT LASKER, NOVEMBER 12, 1939

In Class Activity 2

Using the sample topic Letter from Margaret Sanger to Albert Lasker explore your assigned resource as a group.

Group 1, Discover Advanced (tip: explore the Advanced Search for more ways to limit your search)
Group 2, America: History & Life (tip: you can limit your search by historical period)
Group 3, GenderWatch (tip: try to find the Limit To "Full Text" option)
Group 4, Google Scholar (tip: try to use the settings to add Smith College to your Library Links)

Try to find a relevant resource that you could use for Essay 2, if this was your actual topic. Consider the following questions. Choose a group member to speak on behalf of your group and be prepared to share your experience with the class.

What kind of information does this resource contain (books, articles, videos etc)?
Does this resource contain appropriate secondary sources?
How can you effectively search for and save items that you find (tips, tricks & tools)

Ms. Magazine Access

Ms. Classroom All-Access
FREE 6 MONTH DIGITAL SUBSCRIPTION
Access code: SMITH8613

To access your complimentary six-month digital subscription, go to Ms. Classroom at www.msintheclassroom.com . Go to “Purchase Products,” click on “ALL-ACCESS,” fill out the registration form and enter your code in the “Coupon” box during checkout. (Note: You do NOT need to enter a credit card during checkout). Within minutes, you’ll receive a confirmation email with your login information.

If you have any questions about your Ms. Classroom account, contact the Helpdesk by email at micsupport@msmagazine.com.

Recent print issues of Ms. Magazine can be found in the Neilson Library Current Periodicals shelving in the Cafe

Ms. Magazine (Current)
Read current articles on the Ms. website
Ms. Magazine
Coverage from 1972-1974
Ms. Magazine (Special Collections)
1972-2011, 2016 & 2017, selected digitization