Streaming Video Subscriptions
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming educational & feature films across all disciplines, with films from the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion, PBS & many others. Create a free Kanopy account on campus, then connect to a Kanopy app and watch on your mobile device or smart TV. See Kanopy Help.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window The 1,000 most popular films on the Swank streaming platform; includes both feature & documentary films, from major Hollywood studios, plus independent, foreign and art producers.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Videos relating to social work, psychotherapy, psychology & psychiatric counseling, including footage of consultations, counseling sessions, demos, interviews, lectures, personal narratives & dramatizations.
Streaming Media
- Academic Video Online (AVON) [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowStreaming video across all subject areas. Includes documentaries, and content from a variety of news sources, including PBS and BBC.
- African American Song [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Now part of "American Song." Streaming audio for jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, narratives, sacred music, etc. Up to the 1970s.
- American Song [Alexander Street] 1700s-1960 This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; songs by and about miners, native Americans, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers & cowboys. Genres include country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, blues, gospel & shape note singing. With liner notes.
- BBC Shakespeare Plays This link opens in a new window Streaming video; BBC production of every Shakespeare play.
- Classical Music in Video [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming performances of all forms of classical music, including performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with master classes and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
- Classical Music Library [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio; includes Arabesque, Bridge, CRD, EMI, Forlane, Hänssler, Hyperion, Mode, Newport Classic, Nimbus, Royal Philharmonic, Vox and other labels.
- Contemporary World Music [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; emphasis on fusion, world beat, reggae, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing & jazz, etc. Includes Topic, Playasound, Budamusique, Air Mail , Manuiti, Crossing, Lyrichord, Navras, and INEDIT labels.
- Dance in Video: Vol. 1 & 2 [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming video of dance productions & documentaries by the most influential performers & companies of the 20th century in ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental & improvisational dance.
- DRAM This link opens in a new window DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) is a scholarly recordings collection of contemporary, experimental, avant-garde, improvisatory, and other non-commercial music. Includes access to audio, liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives, including New World, CRI, and other important labels devoted to modern and contemporary sound.
- Ethnographic Sound Archives Online [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Historic audio recordings with supporting field materials, 1960's through the 1980's.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Classic & contemporary documentaries, including previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists & ethnographers in the field; videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, etc., when possible.
- Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new windowClassic & contemporary documentaries, including previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists & ethnographers in the field; videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, etc., when possible.
- Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Important films produced from the early 20th century to today, from Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films & Oscilloscope.
- Jazz Music Library [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming audio, with access by performer, ensemble, genre, instrument, recording date, song title, etc. - from traditional to contemporary jazz.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Streaming educational & feature films across all disciplines, with films from the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion, PBS & many others. Create a free Kanopy account on campus, then connect to a Kanopy app and watch on your mobile device or smart TV. See Kanopy Help.
- Medici TV This link opens in a new window Classical music video broadcasts of live concerts, programs (including operas and ballets), documentaries, and master classes in collaboration with the greatest orchestras and concert halls in the world.
- Met Opera on Demand (Student Access) This link opens in a new window 450+ Metropolitan opera performances, including most of the Met Live in HD productions.
- Music Online [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable database of Alexander Street Press products (American Song, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound, etc.)
- National Jukebox (Library of Congress) 1901-1925 This link opens in a new window Historical recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company. Content will be increased regularly, with additional recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; Naxos, Albany, BIS, Bridge, Cedille, Celestial Harmonies, Chandos, Col Legno, Da Capo, Danacord, Delos, Gimell, Hänssler, Hungaraton, Music and Arts, Opera Rara, Vanguard Classics, Wergo, and many other labels.
- Naxos Music Library-Jazz (Cancelled 9/1/24) This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; Jazz, Contemporary Jazz, Blues, World, Pop and Rock including many labels. Browse by label, genre, artist, or composer.
- Naxos Spoken Word Library (cancelled 9/1/24) This link opens in a new window Streaming audio for literature, poetry, abridged versions of classic texts and non-fiction.
- Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts & documentaries; watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras & artists perform on demand.
- OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window Growing collection of high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and other forms that defy categorization.
- Opera in Video [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming video of major opera performances, including staged productions, interviews & documentaries. Represents the world's best performers, conductors & opera houses.
- SingersBabel This link opens in a new windowOnline tool for helping teachers & vocalists refine pronunciation and enhance comprehension of musical texts in a number of languages.
- Smithsonian Global Sound [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming audio of the world's musical and aural traditions; with recordings by the Smithsonian Folkways label & archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon, etc.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window The 1,000 most popular films on the Swank streaming platform; includes both feature & documentary films, from major Hollywood studios, plus independent, foreign and art producers.
- Theatre in Video Vol. I [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming video of definitive performances of the world's leading plays, and film documentaries. Users can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging.
