Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENV201/202: Researching Environmental Problems: Books

Spring 2022: D. Lello

Books

Some examples:

Library Catalogs and Book Resources

 E-Books Full text:
Please note that the individual records for many of the e-books in the databases below are in the Five College Catalog.  However, these collections provide the capability of searching the full-text of each book, whereas the Five College Catalog does not.

 

Springer E-books 1815+
M
ore than 250,000 books published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline and some coverage of the social sciences & humanities.   Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy)

Proquest E-Book Central
A very large collection of Ebooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

National Academies Press  
Over 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines.  Books are free to download.

 NLM Bookshelf 
A significant selection of full-text books available from the National Library of Medicine. 

Google Books Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Growing collection of books, some with complete full text online, others with only a small portion. Limited printing and downloading.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Full-text e-books on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics.

Video: accessing HathiTrust e-books from the Smith Libraries catalog

Watch a short 4-minute video for detailed, step-by-step directions on accessing HathiTrust eBooks!

undefined

Downloadable PDF of video slides

Ask Us - Meet with Us

Smith College Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

Contact: Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 Use Ask Us to connect
 libraryhelp@smith.edu