Use these sources to find information on specific works of literature - and in some cases the actual online texts. For broader sources which also contain older literary texts, see the Primary Sources tab.
Columbia Granger's World of PoetryThis link opens in a new windowIndex to 450,000 poems; 250,000 full text. With commentaries; biographies; a glossary; foreign language poetry; translations; and audio recordings.
Early American Imprints, 1639-1820This link opens in a new windowBooks, pamphlets, and broadsides on every aspect of American life, based on Charles Evan's American Bibliography and the continuation by Shaw-Shoemaker.
Literature Online (LION) [ProQuest]This link opens in a new windowFully searchable library of 350,000+ works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies, criticism and reference sources.
North American Indian DramaThis link opens in a new windowOver 200 plays by 48 playwrights, more than half are previously unpublished or hard-to-find.
Short Story Index [EBSCO] 1984+This link opens in a new windowLists short stories published in magazines, journals, and books; search by author, title or subject.
Twentieth Century DramaThis link opens in a new windowFull text plays by dramatists such as Amiri Baraka, Noel Coward, Susan Glaspell, Langston Hughes, David Mamet, Eugene O'Neil, Harold Pinter, Bernard Shaw, Neil Simon, Gertrude Stein, Tom Stoppard, Derek Walcott, August Wilson & others.
Women Writers OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFull text of women's writing in English from the 16th through 19th centuries. With coverage of drama, fiction and non-fiction, and verse, provides an unparalleled view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period.