Blackwell Reference OnlineThis link opens in a new window350+ titles in the humanities and social sciences, including the Blackwell companions and handbooks. Strengths are psychology, sociology, history, literature, philosophy, and religion.
Cambridge Companions OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Cambridge Companions; offers introductions to major writers, artists, topics and periods within the fields of literature, classics, philosophy, religion and culture.
Cambridge Histories OnlineThis link opens in a new windowContains all titles of the Cambridge Histories series. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineThis link opens in a new windowA scholar-curated library of subject bibliographies in the humanities & social sciences; each entry offers a guided tour through key literature on a topic.
Oxford Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowReview essays evaluating the current thinking on a field or topic. Articles review the key issues, reveal original arguments and concepts, and set the agenda for new research.
Routledge Handbooks OnlineThis link opens in a new windowDRM-free handbooks offering peer-reviewed research articles in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering & built environment. Chapters can be browsed, searched, viewed & downloaded.
Scribner Writers Online [Gale]This link opens in a new windowOnline versions of American Writers, British Writers, European Writers, and World and Genre Writers.
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new windowTraces the development of English from 1150 AD to the present. Entries include spelling, pronunciation, derivation, meaning, and usage. 2nd ed (1989)+ updates.
Biography in Context MLIN [Gale]This link opens in a new windowBiographies from dictionaries, encyclopedias, and magazines. (Formerly Biography Resource Center.)
Dictionary of Literary Biography [Gale]This link opens in a new windowLengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Oxford Dictionary of National BiographyThis link opens in a new window50,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the 4th century BC to the year 2001. 2nd edition, with illustrations.
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases (e.g., buddhism; slav*; french revolution)