Research Guides: DAN : Dance: Streaming Media

Streaming Media

Dance in Video: Vol. 1 & 2 [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Streaming video of dance productions & documentaries by the most influential performers & companies of the 20th century in ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental & improvisational dance.
Jacob's Pillow Dance Stream This link opens in a new window
An ever-growing collection of dance videos filmed at Jacob’s Pillow from the 1930s to today, plus new illustrated essays.
OntheBoards.tv This link opens in a new window Growing collection of high-quality videos of full-length performances by some of today's most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music, and other forms that defy categorization.
Academic Video Online (AVON) [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Streaming video across all subject areas. Includes documentaries, and content from a variety of news sources, including PBS and BBC.
DRAM This link opens in a new window DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) is a scholarly recordings collection of contemporary, experimental, avant-garde, improvisatory, and other non-commercial music. Includes access to audio, liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives, including New World, CRI, and other important labels devoted to modern and contemporary sound.
Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Classic & contemporary documentaries, including previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists & ethnographers in the field; videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, etc., when possible.
Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Classic & contemporary documentaries, including previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists & ethnographers in the field; videos include accompanying field notes, liner notes, filmmaker biographies, related articles, study guides, etc., when possible.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming educational & feature films across all disciplines, with films from the BBC, California Newsreel, Criterion, PBS & many others. Create a free Kanopy account on campus, then connect to a Kanopy app and watch on your mobile device or smart TV. See Kanopy Help.
Medici TV This link opens in a new window
Classical music video broadcasts of live concerts, programs (including operas and ballets), documentaries, and master classes in collaboration with the greatest orchestras and concert halls in the world.
Music Online [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable database of Alexander Street Press products (American Song, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound, etc.)
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; Naxos, Albany, BIS, Bridge, Cedille, Celestial Harmonies, Chandos, Col Legno, Da Capo, Danacord, Delos, Gimell, Hänssler, Hungaraton, Music and Arts, Opera Rara, Vanguard Classics, Wergo, and many other labels.
Naxos Music Library-Jazz (Cancelled 9/1/24) This link opens in a new window Streaming audio; Jazz, Contemporary Jazz, Blues, World, Pop and Rock including many labels. Browse by label, genre, artist, or composer.
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts & documentaries; watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras & artists perform on demand.