Research Guides: DAN : Dance: Articles

Core Databases

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection [Alexander Street] This link opens in a new window
Offers historical context for 20th-21st century dance through periodicals, reference materials, books, dance notation & photographs; includes the complete run of Dance Magazine (1927–present) and Contact Quarterly, print version (1975-2020).
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text [EBSCO] 1982+ This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index to the performing arts worldwide, with 500 full text journals and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
Music and Performing Arts Collection [ProQuest] This link opens in a new window Offers combined searching of International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text and International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Readers' Guide Retrospective [EBSCO] 1890-1983 This link opens in a new window Comprehensive index to popular general-interest periodicals, reflecting the history of 20th century America.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text [EBSCO] early 1800's + This link opens in a new window Comprehensive music bibliography listing articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, films, and videos; covers all aspects of music and allied disciplines, including the dramatic arts and dance. Most coverage commences with the first issue of the journal and includes cover-to-cover full text for every included title.

More Databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index [Web of Science] 1975+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation information for journal articles from over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals.
PubMed (Medline) 1950s+ This link opens in a new window Lists over 14 million biomedical articles back to the 1950's. Check out the PubMed Tutorial.

Get help with articles

Discover

Discover: Start here for books, articles & more.

Use "Login for full access" at the top of the screen and enter your Smith login.

Discover Advanced Search includes limiting options.