Public Web Access
- American Memory: Migrated CollectionsPrimary source materials relating to U.S. history and culture.
- FDsys - Congressional Record [1994 to present]The Federal Digital System also provides access to the History of Bills and Resolutions portion of the Congressional Record Index
- FDsys: Bound Congressional Record [currently 1999-2001]Volume 145 (1999; 106th Congress) through Volume 147 (2001; 107th Congress) and growing
- Congressional Globe [1833-1873]The Library of Congress provides full text access to early volumes through the American Memory website.
- Register of Debates [1824-1837]The Library of Congress provides access to full text of early volumes through the American Memory website.
- Annals of Congress [1789-1824]The Library of Congress provides access to full text of early volumes through the American Memory website.
Subscription Resources for the Smith Community
- ProQuest Congressional 1789+ This link opens in a new window Congressional Indexes, Publications, Testimony, Bills, Laws, and more. Includes Congressional Hearings Digital Collection, Part A: 1824-1979 and Part B: 1980-2003.
ProQuest Congressional (Smith Community Only) -- Use Advanced Search
Full text 1985 to present [formerly LexisNexis Congressional]
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text of the daily edition of the Congressional Record, 1985 to present
- Lexis & Westlaw (access available at Mass. Trial Court Law Libraries)1985 to present
The Trial Court Law Libraries offer access to Lexis, Westlaw, and VitalLaw in the libraries for free. Smith College subscribes to versions for academic libraries.
Converting Congress Numbers to Years
The U.S. Senate Reference website lists numbered sessions of Congress with corresponding calendar years:
http://www.senate.gov/
Legal Databases
Smith has access to academic versions of LexisNexis and Westlaw, as well as Hein Online.
Links are on the Government subject guide.
Or use Reseach Tools > Databases by Title