Books
Some examples on the Tempest/Caliban/Postcolonialism:
Caliban's Voice by
In Shakespeare's Tempest,Caliban says to Miranda and Prospero: "...you taught me language, and my profit on't Is, I know how to curse. " With this statement, he gives voice to an issue that lies at the centre of post-colonial studies. Can Caliban own Prospero's language? Can he use it to do more than curse? Caliban's Voiceexamines the ways in which post-colonial literatures have transformed English to redefine what we understand to be 'English Literature'. It investigates the importance of language learning in the imperial mission, the function of language in ideas of race and place, the link between language and identity, the move from orature to literature and the significance of translation. By demonstrating the dialogue that occurs between writers and readers in literature, Bill Ashcroft argues that cultural identity is not locked up in language, but that language, even a dominant colonial language, can be transformed to convey the realities of many different cultures. Using the figure of Caliban, Ashcroft weaves a consistent and resonant thread through his discussion of the post-colonial experience of life in the English language, and the power of its transformation into new and creative forms.
ISBN: 9780415470438Publication Date: 2009-01-16
Colonial and Postcolonial Literature by
Postcolonial writers such as Wole Soyinka, Michael Ondaatje, and Ben Okri have recently enjoyed great popularity. In this book Elleke Boehmer looks at how such writing has developed and how it contrasts with the earlier writing in favour of Empire from the last century. Examining various themes and images found throughout this literture, such as journeying, bereavement, and the arrival of the stranger, Boehmer discusses texts ranging from Trollope and Orwell, to V. S Naipaul, J. M. Coetzee, and the prolific Aboriginal writer, Mudrooroo.
ISBN: 0192892320Publication Date: 1995-06-29
Daughters of Caliban by
... provides a Caribbean feminist perspective, seldom heard, which combines scholastic knowledge with personal experiences and can certainly stimulate further research..." --Feminist Collections Scholars concerned with questions of identity, autonomy, the future as well as the past in the Caribbean will be significantly informed by the essays included.... a collection sure to generate discussion on a wide variety of important topics." --H-Net Book Review This exciting volume has more focus and wider scope than previous similar collections and is of considerable worth both for generalists and specialists." --Choice This is a compelling anthology of essays by 13 feminist scholars in a variety of disciplines who expertly analyze varied forces of Caribbean women's complex lives.... The volume makes an important contribution to both Caribbean studies and feminist theory, and it would be a very useful resource for Women's Studies courses with an international focus. Recommended for all libraries." --MultiCultural Review Feminist scholars in anthropology, sociology, law, health sciences, literature, and cultural studies focus on issues of direct importance to Caribbean women: interregional immigrant female labor, the interplay of race and gender in the construction of national cultures, the impact of developmental policies on women's lives, and women's roles in providing cultural continuity in exile communities.
ISBN: 0253210925Publication Date: 1997-06-22
The Empire Writes Back by
The experience of colonization and the challenges of the post-colonial world have produced an explosion of new writing in English. This diverse and powerful body of literature has established a specific practice of colonial writing in cultures as diverse as India, Australia, the West Indies, Africa and Canada. This comprehensive study opens debates about the interrelationships of these literatures, investigates the powerful forces acting on language in the post-colonial text and shows how these texts constitute a radical critique of the assumptions underlying Eurocentric notions of literature and language.
Call Number: Request from Amherst CollegeISBN: 0415012090Publication Date: 1989-12-13
The Tempest: A Case Study in Critical Controversy by
Designed for "teaching the conflicts," this critical edition of Shakespeare’s The Tempest reprints the authoritative Bevington text of the play along with 21 selections representing major critical and cultural controversies surrounding the work. The distinctive editorial material helps readers grapple not only with the play’s critical issues but also with cultural debates about literature itself. The second edition includes four new readings, revised headnotes that more helpfully contextualize the critical essays, a portfolio of visual representations of Caliban, and an appendix on writing about critical controversies and The Tempest.
ISBN: 9780312457525Publication Date: 2008-12-27
Other Library Catalogs
- WorldCat (all dates) This link opens in a new windowExtensive catalog (OCLC) of books, serials, media, web resources, and more worldwide.
Full Text eBook Databases:
- Springer E-books 1815+ This link opens in a new window250,000 eBooks published by Springer and its subsidiary imprints, covering every scientific discipline, with some coverage of the social sciences & humanities. Includes access to Springer's Print on Demand Service (MyCopy).
- Ebook Central [ProQuest] This link opens in a new windowA very large collection of eBooks, mostly scholarly, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. If you’re using your own laptop or desktop, install Adobe Digital Editions; for offline reading, go to the App Store or Google Play to download the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices. Help.
- National Academies PressOver 5,000 books on a variety topics in science, technology, and other disciplines. Books are free to download.
- NLM BookshelfA significant selection of full-text books available from the National Library of Medicine.
- Google BooksGrowing collection of books, some with complete full text online, others with only a small portion. Limited printing and downloading.
- eBook Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new windowFull text eBooks on a broad range of reference, scholarly and professional topics. Includes books formerly in netLibrary.
Books
Some examples by or in part about Quiara Alegria Hudes:
Black Writing, Culture, and the State in Latin America by
Imagine the tension that existed between the emerging nations and governments throughout the Latin American world and the cultural life of former enslaved Africans and their descendants. A world of cultural production, in the form of literature, poetry, art, music, and eventually film, would often simultaneously contravene or cooperate with the newly established order of Latin American nations negotiating independence and a new political and cultural balance. In Black Writing, Culture, and the State in Latin America, Jerome Branche presents the reader with the complex landscape of art and literature among Afro-Hispanic and Latin artists. Branche and his contributors describe individuals such as Juan Francisco Manzano, who wrote an autobiography on the slave experience in Cuba during the nineteenth century. The reader finds a thriving Afro-Hispanic theatrical presence throughout Latin America and even across the Atlantic. The role of black women in poetry and literature comes to the forefront in the Caribbean, presenting a powerful reminder of the diversity that defines the region. All too often, the disciplines of film studies, literary criticism, and art history ignore the opportunity to collaborate in a dialogue. Branche and his contributors present a unified approach, however, suggesting that cultural production should not be viewed narrowly, especially when studying the achievements of the Afro-Latin world.
Call Number: SC Annex Stacks PQ7081.7.B55 B58 2015ISBN: 9780826520623Publication Date: 2015-11-30
The Fornes Frame by
A key way to view Latina plays today is through the foundational frame of playwright and teacher Maria Irene Fornes, who has trained a generation of theatre artists and transformed the field of American theatre. Fornes, author of Fefu and Her Friends and Sarita and a nine-time Obie Award winner, is known for her plays that traverse cultural, spiritual, and aesthetic borders. In The Fornes Frame: Contemporary Latina Playwrights and the Legacy of Maria Irene Fornes, Anne García-Romero considers the work of five award-winning Latina playwrights in the early twenty-first century, offering her unique perspective as a theatre studies scholar who is also a professional playwright. The playwrights in this book include Pulitzer Prize-winner Quiara Alegría Hudes; Obie Award-winner Caridad Svich; Karen Zacarías, resident playwright at Arena Stage in Washington, DC; Elaine Romero, member of the Goodman Theatre Playwrights Unit in Chicago, Illinois; and Cusi Cram, company member of the LAByrinth Theater Company in New York City. Using four key concepts--cultural multiplicity, supernatural intervention, Latina identity, and theatrical experimentation--García-Romero shows how these playwrights expand past a consideration of a single culture toward broader, simultaneous connections to diverse cultures. The playwrights also experiment with the theatrical form as they redefine what a Latina play can be. Following Fornes's legacy, these playwrights continue to contest and complicate Latina theatre.
Call Number: Smith College Josten Book PS153.H56 G367 2016ISBN: 9780816531448Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Water by the Spoonful by
"Hudes brilliantly taps into both the family ties that bind as well as the alternative cyber universe. . . . Her dialogue is bright, her characters, compelling. . . . It's only when cyber meets the real world that anger gives way to forgiveness and resistance becomes redemption; the heart of the play opens up and the waters flow freely."--Variety "A very funny, warm and, yes, uplifting play with characters that are vivid, vital and who stay with you long after the play is over."--Hartford Courant "Ms. Hudes possesses a confident and arresting voice."--The New York Times Winner of the 2012 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, Quiara Alegr#65533;a Hudes's drama is a heartbreaking, funny, and inspiring account of the search for family in both conventional and unconventional places. Somewhere in Philadelphia, Elliot has returned from Iraq and is struggling to find his place in the world, while somewhere in a chat room, recovering addicts forge an unbreakable bond of support and love. The boundaries of family and friendship are stretched across continents and cyberspace as birth families splinter and online families collide. Water by the Spoonful is the second installment in a trilogy of plays that follow Elliot, a young veteran of the Iraq War. The trilogy's first play, Elliot, A Soldier's Fugue, was a finalist for the 2007 Pulitzer Prize and will be published by Theatre Communications Group concurrently with Water by the Spoonful. The trilogy's final play, The Happiest Song Plays Last, premiered in April 2012 at Chicago's renowned The Goodman Theatre.
ISBN: 1559367253Publication Date: 2012-09-25
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request books not owned in the Five Colleges. Please allow a week or 2 for delivery.