Research Guides: ENG199: Methods of Literary Studies -- J. Kim: Articles

Track Down Articles

Journal Locator / Publication Finder Search for a publication title, or use options such as ISSN

Bibliographies

World Shakespeare Bibliography 1972+ This link opens in a new window
Annotations for all important books, articles, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews, media, and more related to Shakespeare.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) 1920+ This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to books, articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, essays and dissertations; 61 journals.

Article Databases

Discover This link opens in a new window
Searches across the Five College Library Catalog, and the libraries' general and specialized journal article databases and full text sources.
MLA International Bibliography [EBSCO] 1919+ This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to literature, language, linguistics and folklore in journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and more. From the Modern Language Association of America.
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) 1920+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to books, articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, essays and dissertations; 61 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text backfiles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus 30,000 eBooks.
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full text for 10,000+ scholarly publications in the social sciences, humanities, arts, and sciences from around the world.
Humanities Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ (subscription ends 07/01/2024) This link opens in a new window Abstracts of articles, book reviews, interviews, obituaries, fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews of plays, television, and radio from 465+ sources.
Sociology Source Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full-text articles relating to social behavior & interaction, covering gender identity, marriage & family, demographics, political sociology, religion, socio-cultural anthropology, etc.
Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Links to scholarly books, articles and more. Results are incomplete and vary greatly by subject. Always use the libraries' research databases for a complete search of scholarly topics.

==========================
English, Language and Literature (Libraries' Subject Guide)
Subject Web Guides (Smith College) For additional databases and other resources, consult these Web Subject guides.
Databases A-Z (available at Smith)

Journals

Identifying Scholarly and Popular Sources. (Univ. of California Berkeley Library)
Covers scholarly vs. popular publications, primary vs. secondary resources, authority, and other criteria for evaluating print and online sources.

Scholarly vs Popular Periodicals Video (about 3 minutes) (Vanderbilt University Library)

Interlibrary Loan

Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles not at Smith College. Please allow about 3-10 days for delivery.