This is the "News" page of the "John Duke & the American Art Song" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Need Help?  Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Research Help Library Services About the Libraries Libraries & Collections

John Duke & the American Art Song   Tags: american, art song, art-song, john duke, mus, music  

"Marking a Century: Music at Smith (1909-2009)" - February 9, 2010 (Marlene Wong)
Last Updated: Dec 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/duke Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

News Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

John Duke Events @ Smith College

There was a performance and reception to celebrate the 1st publication of John Duke's Four Chinese Love Lyrics, on Friday, November 5, 2010, at 5:00 pm on Sweeney Concert Hall stage, Sage Hall, Smith College.

Karen Smith-Emerson, Elsie Irwin Sweeney Professor of Music,  with Clifton J. Noble, Jr., at the keyboard.

Current Exhibit -- John Duke & the American Art Song - Werner Josten Library, mezzanine level
The Werner Josten Library presents an exhibit of John Duke's in-print American art song publications and a multi-media slide show of ca. 60+ images representing first and later edition cover pages, manuscripts, photos, and recordings. Materials and images used in this exhibit reflect the holdings of the Smith College Archives (The John Duke papers), and the Werner Josten Library of the Performing Arts.

Louise Rood Concert, February 12, 2010 - Sage Concert Hall
Dominique Labelle, soprano, and Yehudi Wyner, piano, performed a concert including songs by John Duke: February Twilight, The Bird, hist...whist, Dirge, and i can't be talkin' of love. This concert was part of the year long celebration, Marking a Century: Music at Smith, 1909-2009.

 

ANNOUNCEMENTS

October 15, 2010 --- The Smith College Archives is pleased to announce the first publication of John Duke's Four Chinese Love Lyrics, for soprano and piano (Ed. No. 1556), by Recital Publications (Huntsville, TX).

These are the first "new" Duke songs to be published since 2001. They are available directly from Recital Publications, or through your local vendor.

Two other Duke song sets are published by Recital Publications: Eight songs on translations from the Greek and Latin lyric poets, for baritone and piano (Ed. No. 99); and Five Lewis Carroll poems, for medium voice and piano (Ed. No. 100).

Four Chinese Love Lyrics (1965), for soprano and piano - Editors : Clifton J. Noble, Jr., Marlene M. Wong
ISBN: 978-1-4507-3444-8 -- $15.00 -- Ed. No. 1556.
Preface by Marlene M. Wong; printed edition transcribed and edited by Clifton J. Noble, Jr., from the manuscript transparency and with consultation of the dated sketches, working copy, and a recording made with the composer at the keyboard.

 

The John Duke Papers (Smith College Archives)

Recent Additions and gifts to the John Duke Papers:

Society of the Friends of John Duke - June 2, 2010
Margarita Evans, head and founding member of the Society, has given a collection of her papers, including her letters from John Duke. This is a significant gift and complements existing papers in the Smith College Archives

Recital Publications - March 2, 2010
Walter Foster, publisher (Recital Publications) has made a gift of letters written to him by John Duke between March 19, 1979 and September 30, 1984. Duke's last letter is accompanied by a handwritten "select list of singers and teachers all of whom would be interested in my songs." The group also includes a letter, dated November 13, 1984, from Karen Duke Sturges informing Foster of Duke's death on October 26, 1984.

Donald Boothman - Summer 2008
Donald Boothman, baritone and long time Duke collaborator, has made available copies of letters written to him between September 2, 1973 and March 30, 1983. These letters document their musical collaboration and friendship, including the evolution of their joint recording project.

 

The Duke Family

Karen, Dorothy, and John Duke (Reproduced with permission from the Smith College Archives)

 

Forthcoming

An alphabetical list and index to the songs of John Duke

John Duke for Librarians: a list of his publications

footer Smith College Web Smith College Directory Smith College Moodle Course Management System Smith College email Smith College BannerWeb system Smith College Libraries on Facebook Smith College Libraries Mobile Website Smith College Libraries Suggestion Box
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip