News Images: Current & HistoricalPictures in Print SourcesSmith College Libraries Special Collections
Reproductions in Print Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Smith College Libraries Need Help? Ask a Librarian! Smith College Libraries Home Smith College Libraries Research page Smith College Library Services Smith College Libraries General Information Smith College Libraries & Collections Smith College Libraries
Admin Sign In 

Find Images  Tags: images pictures illustrations reproductions  

Picture Research Sources & Strategies
Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.smith.edu/findimages  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reproductions in Print Sources            Print Page
  
 

More Works of Art

Digital Images
Image databases, images in national and other digital research libraries, online museum catalogs, specialized digital collections, and other sources

Reproductions in Periodicals

  • Art Abstracts  
    Covers all aspects of the visual arts providing access to reproductions (and other content) published in over 400 art magazines, journals, and museum periodicals published throughout the world. Covers 1984-present.
  • Art Index Retrospective  
    Retrospective complement to Art Abstracts covering art periodical literature from 1929 to 1983.
  • JSTOR  
    "Images in JSTOR" tab on the results pages shows tumbnails of the illustrations in articles retrieved by your search of this database of key scholarly journals in all fields.
 
 

Reproductions of Works of Art in Books

Five College Library Catalog
Helpful subject keywords for finding heavily illustrated books and catalogs in all subjects are:

  • Exhibitions
  • In art
  • Illustrations
  • Photographs
  • Pictorial works
  • Portraits


Location of Art Library Materials

Browsing guide to the arrangement of the books, journals, and other resources in Hillyer Art Library.

 

Indexes to Reproductions of Works of Art

These sources list thousands of works of art reproduced in hundreds of books. Access is provided by artist, title, and in some cases by subject. Entries usually give information on the size of the reproduction and whether it's in black-and-white or in color. Books cited in the indexes that are not available in the Five College library collections can be requested using Smith's Interlibrary Loan Service.

A.L.A. Portrait Index. Art Ref N7620.A2 1906

Art in Life [magazine]. Art Ref N7525.C55

Art in Time [magazine]. Art Ref N7225.H38

Black Artist in America. Art Ref N6538.N5T46 1991

Contemporary Art and Artists. Art Ref N6490.P3234

Index to Art Reproductions in Books. Art Ref N7525.H48 1974

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Art Ref ND205.M57

Index to Reproductions of American Paintings. Art Ref ND205.S575

Index to Reproductions of European Paintings. Art Ref ND45.M6

Index to Two-dimensional Art Works. Art Ref N7525.K67

Photography Index. Art Ref TR199.P37

Print Index. Art Ref NE90.P17 1983

Sculpture Index. Art Ref NB36.C55

Theatrical Design in the Twentieth Century. Josten Ref PN2091.S8T47

World Painting Index. Art Ref ND45.H38

 
 

Smith Image Collections

Imaging Center
The Imaging Center supports teaching and learning with visual resources for the Smith community. In addition to digitial resources available in the Insight and ARTstor databases, the center manages extensive circulating Slide and Photo Collections documenting art, architecture, and material culture from a wide geographic and cultural range. The facility is located on level 3 of the Brown Fine Arts Center.

Smith College Special Collections
The collections of the College Archives, Sophia Smith Collection, and Mortimer Rare Book Room include thousands of images including:

  • photographs, slides and negatives
  • architectural drawings and plans
  • posters, broadsides, pamphlets, postcards and other graphic ephemera
  • scrapbooks
  • original prints, paintints and other artwork
  • illustrated books and periodicals
  • manuscripts and other unpublished materials

 

 

 

 

Home | Research | Library Services | General Information | Smith Libraries & Collections | Need Help?


Smith College Home Page

Smith College Libraries, Northampton, MA 01063 | (413) 585-2910
Copyright © 2008 Smith College Libraries. All Rights Reserved.

Last Updated: May 5, 2008

Description

  Loading content... please wait