Start Here!
- Women, War and Society, 1914-1918. From the Imperial War Museum, London. Large collection of digitized primary sources, plus resource essays on topics such as Women and the Medical Services in WW I, Medical Services/International Organizations, Women's Voluntary Organizations in WW I, etc.
- First World War Portal [AM Digital] This link opens in a new window Contains a wealth of primary source material, plus contextual secondary features. Modules inclulde: Personal Experiences; Propaganda & Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives; A Global Conflict.
Online Collections
- American Red Cross Museum Online exhibitions including Images of Hope: American Red Cross Posters, 1918 - 1951, Views of World War I Paris By American Red Cross Artists, etc.
- Gerritsen Collection 1543 -1945 This link opens in a new window An international collection of books, pamphlets & periodicals (1543 -1945) relating to feminism & the women’s rights movement. Contains articles on refugees, war work, etc.
- Find Images Guide Help finding and using images online, in print publications, and in Smith's unique special collections.
"Contemporary" Magazines
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) [ProQuest] 1802 to 1995 This link opens in a new window Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective [EBSCO] 1890-1983 This link opens in a new window Lists articles from the most popular general-interest magazines.
- British Periodicals Collection [ProQuest] 1680s to 1930s This link opens in a new window Searchable full text of hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.
- Illustrated London News Historical Archive [Gale] 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window Digital archive of the world's first fully illustrated weekly newspaper, presenting a vivid picture of British & world events.
Locating Primary Source Material
- In addition to materials in the Sophia Smith Collection (sse link at bottom), there is an abundance of primary source material in Neilson Library.
- Use secondary literature for leads on primary sources.
- As you search the online catalog; watch for the words "personal narratives," "interviews," "correspondence," "diaries," "pamphlets," and "sources" as part of the subject headings. Other clues may be buried in the title, authorship, date of publication, etc.
Try Keyword searches such as these:
- (diaries or correspondence or narratives or interviews or sources) and 1914-1918 and women
- (diaries or correspondence or narratives or interviews or sources) and (war work) and france
- canteen* and 1914-1918 [for something this specific, don't bother to add diaries, correspondence, etc.]
- Note that there's no single "right" way to do this and that you'll need to play around with various combinations.
Or use Subject Begins With for these:
More Digital Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1922 This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, including those from the 19th century. In progress.
- Boston Globe [ProQuest] 1872+ MLIN This link opens in a new window Full text of all staff-written news stories, features, columns, and editorials with images.
- Chicago Tribune Historical [ProQuest] 1849+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new window Full text newspaper, with images.
- Daily Mail Historical Archive [Gale] 1897-2016 This link opens in a new window Important, alternative news perspective, compared to the London Times; targeted at the British lower and middle classes, with a large female readership.
- Los Angeles Times Historical [ProQuest] 1881+ (lacks current 14 years) This link opens in a new window Full text, including images of the Los Angeles Daily Times (1881-1886) and the Los Angeles Times (1886-1986).
- New York Herald Tribune [ProQuest] 1841-1962 This link opens in a new window Full text, including images, of this influential paper founded by Horace Greeley. Important for 19th century US social history and 20th century literature & arts coverage.
- New York Times Historical [ProQuest] 1851+ (lacks current 4 years) This link opens in a new window Full text, including images, of the New York Times, excluding the most recent 4 years.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window Combined searching of all the titles below, plus more; excludes The Times of London.
- Times (London) Digital Archive [Gale] (lacks current 6 years) This link opens in a new window Complete digital edition of The Times (London), including articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
- Times (London) Sunday Digital Archive [Gale] 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window Complete digital edition of The Sunday Times (London), including articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.
- Washington Post Historical [ProQuest] 1877+ (lacks current 17 years) This link opens in a new window Full text including images.
Primary Sources on Feminism
- Gerritsen Collection 1543 -1945 This link opens in a new window An international collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals on feminism & the women's rights movement worldwide.
Ask Us - Meet with Us
