Smith College Relief Unit
Members of the Smith College Relief Unit packing supplies in front of Hotel Petrograd, the YWCA Hostess House in Paris during World War I. [Smith College Archives]
Online Reference Collections
- Cambridge Histories Online Online versions of titles such as Cambridge History of the First World War, Cambridge World History of Human Disease, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online Scholar-curated bibliographic essays; great for topics such as the American Red Cross, the Eastern and Western fronts in WW I, women in the military, psychiatry casualties, etc.
Biography
- American National Biography This link opens in a new window Reliable scholarly biographies of major figures in American history.
Women in World History by
This encyclopedia features women from all walks of life, including: royalty, lawyers, politicians, soldiers, heroines, pacifists, resistance fighters, financiers, philanthropists, and authors. Coverage includes many women for whom profiles are not included in traditional sources.
ISBN: 078763736XPublication Date: 1999-10-08
Find encyclopedias and more
Find articles in thousands of Smith's scholarly reference sources.
Search for online and print encyclopedias:
Keywords:
Enter your search terms:
Search tip: try simple words/phrases
Encyclopedias
Dictionary of American History
Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2002-12-11
Encyclopedia of America in the Twentieth Century by
This is a four-volume reference work containing over 70 original essays by leading scholars in the fields of history and political science. The encyclopaedia is divided into sections on the American people, politics, society and culture, the economy, science, technology and medicine, and global America. Each of the six sections begins with an introductory essay of approximately 2500 words written by the editors.
ISBN: 0132105357Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. How is the West defined as a cultural region? What did the notions of "secession" and "union" mean to Americans living in the 1860s? How does Disney pervade and influence perceptions about America today? In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
ISBN: 0684805618Publication Date: 2001-03-26
Encyclopedia of American Social History by
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
ISBN: 0684192462Publication Date: 1993-02-01
The Encyclopedia of World War I by
Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th century's most influential conflict. * 1,219 A-Z entries covering military culture and tactics for all engaged armies in unprecedented depth, describing important events (the sinking of the Lusitania, the Arab revolt), cultural and political figures (Ferdinand Foch, Wilfred Owen), geopolitical agreements (the covenant of the League of Nations), social issues (the role of religions), and much more * 175 contributors, including scholars from the United States, Britain, China, Japan, Australia, France, Germany, Austria, and Scandinavia, giving this encyclopedia an unprecedented global perspective * A separate primary source volume with 195 official documents, diary entries, and letters from all types of people involved in the war, with introductory information to place the documents in historical context * An opening section of 35 battle and locational maps providing the geographic context necessary to understand how the conflict moved and where and why the battlefield stalled * Insightful introductory essays that discuss the root causes of the war, the catalyzing events that lead to the outbreak of war, an overview of the war itself, and a discussion of the long-term impact of the war, providing context for the A-Z entries that follow * A list of comparative military ranks, glossary, historiography, and general bibliography, plus a comprehensive chronology providing researchers and readers with a sense of time and relationship between the major events of the conflict
ISBN: 1851094202Publication Date: 2005-09-27
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History brings together in one two-volume set the record of the nation's values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought. Over the past twenty years, the field of culturalhistory has moved to the center of American historical studies, and has come to encompass the experiences of ordinary citizens in such arenas as reading and religious practice as well as the accomplishments of prominent artists and writers. Some of the most imaginative scholarship in recent yearshas emerged from this burgeoning field. The scope of the volume reflects that development: the encyclopedia incorporates popular entertainment ranging from minstrel shows to video games, middlebrow ventures like Chautauqua lectures and book clubs, and preoccupations such as "Perfectionism" and "Wellness" that have shaped Americans'behavior at various points in their past and that continue to influence attitudes in the present. The volumes also make available recent scholarly insights into the writings of political scientists, philosophers, feminist theorists, social reformers, and other thinkers whose works have furnished theunderpinnings of Americans' civic activities and personal concerns. Anyone wishing to understand the hearts and minds of the inhabitants of the United States from the early days of settlement to the twenty-first century will find the encyclopedia invaluable.
ISBN: 9780199764358Publication Date: 2013-03-26
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History brings together in a single authoritative reference work an extraordinary wealth of information about the history of everyday life in America.Sixty years ago, an encyclopedia devoted to U.S. social history would have been unthinkable. The term "social history" was not even in common use. By the 1960s, however, scholars had begun to reject the notion that what was solely important about the past were the actions of political and militaryleaders and the ideas of elite intellectuals. These historians insisted upon the value of the experiences of ordinary people. Often called "history from the bottom up," social history includes the study of marginalized people whose voices had been largely missing from the history books, and covers awide span of activities embracing the whole range of ordinary people's life experience. Social structures and the environment that shaped American life, including family, work, leisure, social movements, and patterns of mobility and settlements, are central to the work, as are themes of race,gender, ethnicity, and class. Sensitive to transnational developments, the volume draws extensively on new literature on slavery, health and disease, sexuality, women's activism, and technology's impact on everyday life. With over 450 articles by expert scholars, each signed entry features numerous cross references and discussion of social history as well as additional sources for further study in this two-volume A-to-Z compendium. The encyclopedia is a reference work of unparalleled depth and scope and willintroduce a new generation of readers to the complexities of this dynamic field of study. It also features key biographies of leaders in social history, a topical outline, and subject index.
ISBN: 9780199743360Publication Date: 2012-04-13
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History captures the experiences of women throughout world history in a comprehensive, 4-volume work. Although there has been extensive research on women in history by region, no text or reference work has comprehensively covered the role women haveplayed throughout world history. The past thirty years have seen an explosion of research and effort to present the experiences and contributions of women not only in the Western world but across the globe. Historians have investigated womens daily lives in virtually every region and have researched the leadership roles women havefilled across time and region. They have found and demonstrated that there is virtually no historical, social, or demographic change in which women have not been involved and by which their lives have not been affected. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History benefits greatly from theseefforts and experiences, and illuminates how women worldwide have influenced and been influenced by these historical, social, and demographic changes. The Encyclopedia contains over 1,300 signed articles arranged in an A-Z format for ease of use. The entries cover six main areas: biographies; geography and history; comparative culture and society, including adoption, abortion, performing arts; organizations and movements, such as the EgyptianUprising, and the Paris Commune; womens and gender studies; and topics in world history that include slave trade, globalization, and disease. With its rich and insightful entries by leading scholars and experts, this reference work is sure to be a valued, go-to resource for scholars, college andhigh school students, and general readers alike.
ISBN: 9780195148909Publication Date: 2008-01-23
