Journals by Title
Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journal articles not owned by Smith. Articles are supplied as PDFs and usually arrive in just a few days.
Article Databases
- America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window The major article database for US and Canadian history. Lists articles, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
- Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text [EBSCO] 1956+ This link opens in a new window The article major database for non-US, non-Canadian history. Lists articles, book reviews, collections, and dissertations.
JSTOR & Project Muse
Use the search box within each for "deep" searching of the full text of articles.
- Project Muse (Current issues) This link opens in a new window Full text of 400+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Complete full text articles (excluding latest 2-5 years) for more than 1,000 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Now includes current coverage for several hundred journal titles, plus eBooks. JSTOR’s image search (formerly Artstor) contains more than 2+ million images. It includes Smith College collections developed to meet teaching needs in the arts, humanities, and sciences, as well as images of works from the Smith College Museum.
