Zotero

Zotero helps researchers gather, manage, store, and generate citations and bibliographies.

Organize your Library

Creating Collections (similar to a folder) can help you organize your library.

  • Click on the yellow folder/plus sign icon. A pop-up box will open prompting you to name your new collection.
  • You can drag and drop items into a collection from within your Zotero library. 
    Note: Each time you drag an item into a new collection from your library, Zotero creates a copy.
  • Create sub-collections using the same method. You can also drag and drop collections into other collections.

Click on the yellow folder at the top of Zotero to create a new collection, then name it in the pop-up box.

When you add references to your Zotero library, it often imports existing tags. You can add unique tags to your references to make them easier to find later.

Select citation you ant to add tags to, choose tags tab in the right-hand pane, then add tags using the plus sign.

When you install Zotero, it includes the most commonly used citation styles. If Zotero does not have the formatting style you need, just visit Zotero's Style Repository, on your desired style, and save it to your Zotero style library.

List of citation styles for the Zotero citation styles repository shown.


The style will be uploaded to Zotero and available for you to use.


Po-up asking if user wants to install the style she has chosen.

Ask Us - Meet with Us

Smith College Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

Contact: Teaching, Learning & Research Librarians

 Use Ask Us to connect
 libraryhelp@smith.edu