Ask Us / Meet with Us
Feedback Form
Research Resources
- Dissertations & Theses Global [ProQuest] (Full text 1997+, plus selected older dissertations; abstracts and citations 1861+) This link opens in a new window Includes 1.7 million full text dissertations (1997+, plus selected older dissertations). Also includes 3.8 million citations for 1861+. Includes a growing number of foreign dissertations.
- Harvard Think Tank Search Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity.
- Open Research Reports (JSTOR) JSTOR hosts a growing curated collection of more than 50,000 open research reports from 187 think tanks and research institutes from around the world. Research reports provide current analysis on many of today’s most discussed and debated issues from a diversity of ideological and international perspectives representing 40 countries and 29 languages
- USA.gov Meta-site for government agencies, information & services.
Discover Advanced Search
Use Request Item to get books from other campuses
- GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new window Full text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window SIGN IN to Google Scholar. Find Settings on the menu. Choose "Library Links," search for Smith College, then SAVE to activate links to full text at Smith.
- PsycINFO [EBSCO] 1887+ This link opens in a new window Worldwide coverage of 1300+ journals, books and dissertations in the behavioral sciences, psychology, mental health, medicine, etc.
- Research Guides by Subject (Smith College Libraries) Find subject specific resources (books, articles, reference tools, websites, etc.), subject-expert librarians, and specialized help.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
- New York Times, 1851+ This link opens in a new window Full text access to current issues and a complete archive (does not include The Crossword). The first time you click on this link, you will be prompted to create your own New York Times account, using your Smith email address. After that you can go directly to nytimes.com or use the NYTimes app from anywhere, on any device and gain full access with the login you've created. Spanish and Chinese language editions also available. Faculty and staff need to refresh their account annually.
- Nexis Uni (Coverage varies by title) This link opens in a new window New Lexis-Nexis interface, with a single search box, plus filters to refine searches; users are encouraged to register for an ID & password, to take advantage of personalization features. Covers a wide range of news, business, legal & reference information; includes federal & state laws & cases.
- Online Journals Search (Publication Finder) Search for a publication title, or use options such as ISSN
- Affilia: Journal of Women and Social Work In 1986, the founding editors created Affilia as a dedicated space for feminist voices, underrepresented in mainstream social work journals, and the topical and methodological challenges that these marginalized voices raised for the field and the discipline. Articulating innovative feminist voices and perspectives has steadfastly remained the substance of the scholarship published in the journal.
- AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.
- American Indian Culture and Research Journal In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and researchers. The premier journal in Native American and Indigenous studies, it publishes original scholarly papers and book reviews on a wide range of issues in fields ranging from history to anthropology to cultural studies to education and more.
- Caribbean Studies Caribbean Studies is a multidisciplinary academic journal published since 1961 by the Institute of Caribbean Studies, College of Social Sciences at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus. The journal publishes original works on the Social Sciences and the Humanities in English, Spanish or French languages. It is divided in four parts: articles, research notes, book reviews (including review essays of multiple books and individual reviews), and news and events.
- Feminist Theory Feminist Theory champions and shapes feminist debates globally, providing a vital critical forum for publishing and reading cutting-edge discussions of feminist theory and feminist theoretical praxis. The journal is committed to speaking to the broadest spectrum of feminism, and of gender and sexual politics, as understood across the arts, humanities and social sciences.
- Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy The journal's mission is to serve as a resource to policy analysts and advocates in public, private, and non-profit organizations; to provide a forum for scholarship and publication on issues related to the U.S. Latino community's political, social and economic development; to provide experience to future policy analysts and advocates; and to develop interest in Latino issues.
- Journal of Asian American Studies Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores all aspects of Asian American experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas.
- Journal of Black Studies For the last half-century, the Journal of Black Studies has been the leading source for dynamic, innovative, and creative research on the Black experience. Poised to remain at the forefront of the recent explosive growth in quality scholarship in the field of Black studies, the Journal of Black Studies is published eight times per year. This means a greater number of important and intellectually provocative articles exploring key issues facing African Americans and Blacks can now be given voice.
- Latino Studies This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
- US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal The US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal is a research publication created to mine, showcase, and promote the rich field of oral history as it relates specifically to the US Latina and Latino experience. Manuscripts are blind peer-reviewed and represent best practices of oral history and the highest research standards.
Search Tips
Boolean operators connect your search terms in order to narrow or widen your search results from a database. The three main operators are AND, OR, and NOT.
- AND includes other terms and widens your results.
- Ex: houselessness AND mental health
- OR connects multiple terms and broadens your results.
- Ex: houselessness OR homelessness
- NOT excludes certain words and narrows your results.
- Ex: houselessness NOT youth
Quotes and asterisks are other helpful tools that you can use when using databases.
- Quotes around a certain phrase tells the database to search those two words together and in a specific order.
- Ex: if you wanted to research LGBTQ youth, you might search "LGBTQ youth" in order to avoid results that only mention "LGBTQ" or "youth".
- Asterisks are used in truncation, a technique that broadens your search to include various word endings and spellings. An asterisk is placed at the end of the root of the word you are searching.
- Ex: searching "child*" would give you results that contain the terms child, childs, children, childrens, or childhood.
- How-to search with the APA Thesaurus and Subjects By the end of this video you should be able to: Locate Subjects using the APA Thesaurus and use them to conduct a search in APA PsycInfo Revise a search in APA PsycInfo to include additional Subjects Describe how to search in APA PsycInfo when there is no Subject for a particular search concept
- How-to find Peer-Reviewed Empirical Articles By the end of this video you will be able to: Use the filters in APA PsycInfo to access empirical studies from peer-reviewed journals. Determine if an article found in APA PsycInfo is an empirical study from a peer-reviewed journal.
Library Search Activity
- SOCW 648 Library Research Activity WorksheetThis exercise will help you get started on finding sources for your Literature Search Table. Complete the directions with the fellow members of your class pod.