Welcome to the Spanish & Portuguese Studies Guide! Here, you will find a variety of resources that have been chosen specifically for the research of Spanish & Portuguese. On this page, you will find the best bets for any initial research of your research topic. From there, you can explore the other tabs as you dig deeper into your research.
Getting Started
- The Cambridge History of Latin America Online access to 11 volumes. Topics include political, economic & regional history (ancient to modern) plus language & literature, philosophy, music, religion, science, the performing arts, etc.
- Companion to Latin American Literature & Culture [Blackwell] Considers cultural and historical contexts for major authors of fiction, essays, and poetry. Includes discussion of forms and genres, plus architecture, music, and film.
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 60+ languages; self-paced tutorials to practice reading, listening & speaking. Includes both modern languages several ancient languages (Koine & ancient Greek, Latin & Biblical Hebrew) . Also includes specialty courses (e.g. food & wine in French, Arab etiquette). Create an account with your Smith email address to track your progress.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window Reference dictionaries and companions, including illustrations, web links, and searching individual titles or by subject area; from Oxford University Press.
- Dicionário Priberam da Língua Portuguesa (DPLP) Portuguese-Portuguese dictionary from Portugal
- Dicionário WordReference Português-Inglês Portuguese online dictionary with English and Spanish language definitions.
- Línguas indígenas brasileiras Dictionary of Brazilian Indian languages organized alphabetically by language. In Portuguese and English.
- Michaelis Moderno Dicionário da Língua Portuguesa Portuguese-Portuguese dictionary (Brazil)
- Michaelis Moderno Dicionário Inglês Online Portuguese-English Dictionary
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window Unabridged bilingual dictionaries for English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Chinese & Arabic, with native speaker audio pronunciation.
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 60+ languages; self-paced tutorials to practice reading, listening & speaking. Includes both modern languages several ancient languages (Koine & ancient Greek, Latin & Biblical Hebrew) . Also includes specialty courses (e.g. food & wine in French, Arab etiquette). Create an account with your Smith email address to track your progress.
- Rosetta Stone (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Online learning tool for 30 languages, from basic to advanced; self-paced tutorials for reading, writing, listening & speaking. You must first create a username/password before using Rosetta Stone.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography [Gale] This link opens in a new window Lengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
- Reverso Context - Translation portal of linguistic tools includes translation and dictionaries
- Translation, Free from SDL International Select from 10 languages to translate from English, or to English from Spanish, French, German, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, or Russian.
- Web-Compugador Automatically conjugates over 10,000 Spanish verbs (from Daniel M. Germàn, University of Waterloo).
- CountryWatch 1993+ This link opens in a new window Up-to-date information and news on the countries of the world including politics, economics, business, news and data.
- Sage Data (formerly Data Planet) This link opens in a new window Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Browse contents; search topics & variables; view data in side-by-side tables & charts. Includes interactive maps, trends & rankings. Export results to Excel, XML, etc.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography [Gale] This link opens in a new window Lengthy literary biographies by recognized literary scholars and critics, covering past & present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
