Research Guides: SOC : Sociology: Article Databases

Core Databases

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts [ProQuest] 1987+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts journals in social services, health, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education, with links to websites.
Sociological Abstracts [ProQuest] 1952+ This link opens in a new window Abstracts for articles in 1,800+ journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology Source Ultimate [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window Full-text articles relating to social behavior & interaction, covering gender identity, marriage & family, demographics, political sociology, religion, socio-cultural anthropology, etc.

More Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text [EBSCO] 1953+ This link opens in a new window Extensive index to 1,700 journals, books, and dissertations on American and Canadian history, popular culture, anthropology, sociology, economics, education, and politics.
Ethnic NewsWatch [ProQuest] 1960+ This link opens in a new window Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Expanded Academic Index [Gale] 1980+. MLIN This link opens in a new window Full text scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts and humanities, the social sciences, science and technology, across all academic disciplines.
Gender Studies Database [EBSCO] 1972+ with some earlier coverage (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies Database, with added coverage on sexual diversity issues; includes a wide array of scholarly and popular sources.
GenderWatch [ProQuest] 1970+ This link opens in a new window Full text publications on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
General Science Abstracts [EBSCO] 1984+ (subscription ends 1/1/25) This link opens in a new window Provides indexing & abstracts of articles from almost 300 U.S. and British journals and magazines on astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health & medicine, oceanography, physics, zoology and more.
HAPI : Hispanic American Periodicals Index 1970+ This link opens in a new window Citations to articles and other materials from 400+ journals, on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border & U.S. Hispanics.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) [ProQuest] 1951+ This link opens in a new window Indexes 2,600+ international journals in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. From the British Library of Political & Economic Science.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text scholarly journals providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines.
Social Sciences Citation Index [Web of Science] 1898+ This link opens in a new window Bibliographic and citation from 3,000 of the world's leading social sciences journals across 50 disciplines.